Hamburger Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was good. I added 1c. water before simmering and 1c.more water when I added pasta. I added pasta after 45 min. instead of an hour because potatos were done by then and I was pressed for time. Next time I will substitute diced tomatos for green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I wasn't really into this dish at all. It was too mushy. If you do make this then think about adding a can of tomatoes or tomatoe sauce. Definitely also cut out the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOSTERKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Wish I'd read reviews before making. There wasn't enough liquid to cook the macaroni. My family loved it. I added fresh tomatoes from our garden. I will make this again, but I'll add water or pre-cook the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I had to add 1C of water while it was cooking and another 1/2C of water after I put the noodles into it (we live at high altitude). I substituted carrots for green beans based on my family’s preference. My husband asked for seconds, normally he is not a fan of one-dish meals, but he commented, "it really doesn't look that appetizing but it tastes really good". I will make this again, I would like to try it without the potatoes and add more noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I added a can of diced tomatoes without the juice and it was wonderful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This recipe is excellent!! It tastes just like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Well, I just got up from the dinner table....my son didn't like it, but my daughter did. My husband and I thought it was OK. I put 2 15oz cans of tomatoe sauce in before I discovered that it was supposed to be 2 8oz, but I didn't have any trouble with the potatoes or macaroni cooking. I added 2T of worcestershire sauce. I think next time I would leave out the potatoes and add 2-3 Cups of the macaroni. It also needed a ton of seasoning. I added much more salt and pepper plus garlic powder, onion powder, roasted garlic and tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Easy to make and my kids really liked it. Just serve it with some garlic bread and the meal is complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Since I just had a kidney transplant - I have to really watch my salt intake. With this recipe, I left out all salt called for, used no salt added tomato sauce and green beans. That left it tasting bland - so I added a lot of seasoning. I also had to add nearly 3 cups of water while it was simmering, as 16 ounces of tomato sauce was not enough liquid to cook the potatoes in. It also took over an hour and a half of simmering to cook the potatoes, and I sliced them thin. Next time I may use canned potatoes so it will be ready quicker. It did turn out very good - my husband had thirds the first night we had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was a pretty good basic recipe for goulash. I added a lot more seasoning, italian blend and black pepper, and more noodles. I also omitted the corn as that sounded odd. You do need to add water as others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States