Hamburger Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made sure to read the other reviews prior to making this dish and I am glad I did, I did need to add water and since I had no Worcestshire sauce on hand I used Soy sauce instead, otherwise followed followed instructions and it was very, very good. My three year old gave it a thumbs up! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
we liked this fairly well--7-year-old said it was delicious, husband said it was bland, i say it was super easy to make with ingredients i had on hand and tasted pretty good to boot. not a particularly exciting or fancy dish, but a good weeknight meal. leftovers will go well in a thermos for 7-year-old's lunch tomorrow. i used veggie crumbles instead of ground beef and added beef bouillon powder and extra water, but otherwise followed the recipe. i sprinkled some shredded cheddar on before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I've made this several times. You do need to add water to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Surprisingly, my wife loved it! Usually, she's very skeptical when I try a new recipe. I did take into consideration, the other reviews. I added water, also used some tomato cocktail juice and a blood mary mix, canned mushrooms and only 2 potatoes and a fresh tomato. Oh yeah, used leftover pasta in place of elbows. It still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
this was very good my family really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Very good. I did substitute peas for green beans because my family is not fond of the beans, but it still turned out wonderfully. The only thing was that I needed to add quite a bit of water continuously to make sure it didn't burn as it was simmering (I think I added about four cups overall), and I added some more salt and pepper at the table. Easy to make, my family liked it, and there were lots of leftovers for lunch! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Was looking for something that was quick and that I could use ground beef and potatoes with, found this recipe, followed some of the others' advice and made a few changes of my own. It was good, but not one of my favorites... sorry ;( Changes: I did not add noodles, used 5 potatoes instead of 4; two cans of green beans (14.5 oz); one can of cream corn and one can of sweet yellow corn, and a small can of lima beans, more salt and pepper. This was a good recipe to serve the family, meaning kids, so they can get their nutrients, vegetables etc... but not anything enticing for company or guests.....I would cook this again, however, when running out of time and need a hot cooked meal, pronto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
excellent! reminded me of the goulash my grandma used to make, i loved the potatoes in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I thought this was fantastic! A great meal for a cold, snowy day. Instead of adding water, I used 1 can of beef broth (I like a thinner gravy). Also, after reading the other comments, I added green peppers, chopped tomatoes and tabasco. This is a great dish and super flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Yum! I'm glad I made a bunch because we are already looking forward to leftovers. I substituted a turnip for the potato, added olives and sprinkled cheese and french fried onions. I have a feeling I'll be making this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States