Hamburger Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was good, and better the second day. We liked it, but there wasn't really anything wow about it. I did add a bit of heat though for our preference. If I made it again, I might leave out the potatoes. It seemed like a lot of carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wonderful comfort food the whole family enjoys! I would have rated this 5, but the recipe needs some clarification. I drained the browned hamburger and added everything into the same pan to simmer. I diced the onion instead of slicing (to hide it from the kids) & substituted 1 can of diced tomatos with the juice for one of the cans of tomato sauce. Everything except the green beans simmered together for 20 mins., enough for the potato to be tender, then added the noodles and green bean to cook til tender. Per others' reviews, I added 3/4 cup water with the noodles. Cooking time ended up to be less than 40 mins. Had I cooked it for the 1 hour recommended, everything would have been mushy. Served it with Parmesean cheese and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was similar to something I used to make and decided to try it again. I made a few changes/additions and it came out great. I added carrots and celery, crushed tomatoes, beef bouillon, ground chipotle and a little smoked paprika (It seemed right at the time). I also substituted V8 juice for the tomato sauce. Totally skipped the worcestershire (didn't have any) and the potatoes (I just can't bring myself to have both potatoes and macaroni in the same dish). Added more water and put in pre-cooked large elbows towards the end. The 2 year old finished hers and the 5 year old ate 3 bowls and said to make sure to put the leftovers away so she could have it for breakfast. It made a ton but there was only one large bowl left after 6 of us. Will make again and maybe next time try with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
the two eight oz cans of sauce did't seem to make it moist enough. i would suggest adding a little more sauce and a little more of each spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
The taste is similar to Sheppard’s Pie. I made it in a large pot and used tomato soup instead of tomato paste, added a ½ cup of water to start. Did not add the green beans... It made a ton of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe when trying to get rid of some things in the pantry and freezer and is tasty at the same time! My husband and I really enjoyed this. I used peas instead of green beans, added a little more water, used 1 can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can tomato sauce (it was just what I had on hand), 1 chopped jalapeno pepper (to give it a little kick) and 1 TBSP of brown sugar. It was WONDERFUL! This is a keeper for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Very tasty. I added carrots and mushrooms, and a little soy sauce. I also read the over reviews and added some more water, and a little parm cheese. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I thought this was very good. I used about 1/2 cup more onion and some garlic salt. I also cooked the noodles separately and added them towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntersmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Gluten free goulash! I can't eat wheat and was pleased to see this as an alternative to the goulash I grew up with. Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made sure to read the other reviews prior to making this dish and I am glad I did, I did need to add water and since I had no Worcestshire sauce on hand I used Soy sauce instead, otherwise followed followed instructions and it was very, very good. My three year old gave it a thumbs up! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States