Hamburger Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Momma_Little
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this today, and it was delicious! I took a photo of it and added it, too, because whoever posted the other ones, well, I don't know what they made, but I don't think it was this recipe! I will be making this recipe a lot! I used more tomato sauce than called for, but that may be because of potato size, etc., that I used. Also, it doesn't indicate in the recipe that you should cook the noodles al dente (firm) in boiling water before adding them to the goulash, but common sense would tell you that, I guess. A new cook may end up with some pretty crunchy noodles! This recipe is delicious! Oh! And next time, just because we love them, we'll be adding onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma_Little

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
We really liked this dish. I'm pretty lazy, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatos with basil and garlic instead of the fresh variety. I didn't drain them so I didn't really need the extra water other reviewers are calling for. We'll definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronson McKinley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Loved this. I didn't have any potatoes but I did have a butternut squash. So I pealed and qubed it. Threw it in instead of the potatoes. FANTASTIC!!! I also added cumin. What a great dish. We will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
did forget to tell you to add the water it is really up to you as to how much water to add...thicker not so much but if you like a little soupier then add more. So sorry for this mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Absolutely a family favorite. I can't believe my kids gobble this up so much. I use ground turkey instead to make healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
It wasn't wonderful like I hoped. It was ok for an occasional dish but I wouldn't make it every week. I also had to add more water to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Really good. I recommend a little less potato. I added some cayenne and 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I followed this recipe but made a few changes of my own. I used 1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef, substituted celery in place of the green-beans, added one extra potato, added 1/2 cup water along with 26 oz of my favorite spaghetti sauce (instead of tomato sauce and spices), and cooked on medium-low for 1 hour till potato was tender then added the noodles to cook for 20 more minutes on medium. I had to keep checking it to make sure it wasn't going to burn or get mushy. I think next time I will keep the heat at medium-low and cover the pot to cut down on cook time. It was delicious though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I gave it 3 stars. I think it would have been alot better with just potatoes n without noodles or the just the noodles n without potatoes. With both very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
The only thing I did differently was to use stew meat (just because that is what I had ) and floured it lightly before browning. I have since also used a combination of the two, ground beef and stew meat which is also really good. This is a great recipe and actually reminds me in flavor of my Mom's pot roast which in my opinion was GREAT! Thank You for sharing Jackye : - ) ps..this just gets better if you have any leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States