Hamburger Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is my husband's favorite! I make this one everytime I go out of town because I know it will keep him from eating fast food everyday! He even loved to share it with his guy friends, they all raved. Thank You. UPDATE: I have made this a dozen times now and I make the following changes to the recipes. First, I use a 26 oz. jar of prepared tomato sauce (sometimes more depending on how thick the sauce ends up), I use the whole 16 oz. cottage cheese (small curd) container because I have never found it in 8 oz., I omit the bell pepper (not our favorite, sometimes I substitute a red bell pepper, but it is good without), and top the whole thing with a couple cups of shredded cheese (mozzarella or Italian mixture). This is very thick, rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This is very similar to the recipe I remember my family using from the back of a Hunts tomato sauce can. The sour cream and cottage cheese blend and just make this recipe so good. The only difference in recipes is the addition of green bell pepper which would add a nice crunch and color. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFBRAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This was a good recipie, but I've tasted better hamburger noodle bakes. The cheese mix was great, though. In addition to the ingredients listed, I added some mushrooms. I think it would have been much better if it had more of that chesse mix-- the next time I make it I'll try it with 50% more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I have searched everywhere for this recipie. I used to make in my home ecomomics class in school. Everyone loves it! You can't go wrong with this one! I lost the recipie for a few years and am glad to have it back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I gave it 5 stars, because, with a little adjusting, it will be perfect. Definately needs more sauce, and I think more hamburger, like a pound and a half. Also, I think the green pepper needs to cooked with the hamburger and onion. Other than that, wow! what a great meal! Awesome flavor. And you can do many variations with it, adding your personal favorites....it's virtually impossible to screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
awesome! and so easy to make. i only made a few changes. i added extra pepper, garlic and tomato sauce. i also sprinkled in oregano and basil. instead of removing the beef mixture from the heat after adding all ingredients, i simmered it for about 10-15 minutes. it cooked down a bit and really added some flavor. we ate on this for about 3 days! it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Too much cream cheese for our tastes, but otherwise good. The fussiest kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Great with meatballs instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
My family loved it. Only things different that I did were to add mushrooms and use low fat cheeses and sour cream. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
My family really liked this dish. My daughter, who is a junior in college without much cooking experience, has already made it twice for her fiancee. MUST BE EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States