Hamburger Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Instead of making more sauce, I made less pasta. I used a box of Ronzoni's Healthy Harvest rotini (13.25 ounces) and it was the perfect amount for the sauce and cheese mixture. However, even with some herbs added, the sauce had no depth or brightness. I can't remember the last time I used tomato sauce...I use diced or crushed tomatoes out of season...and that real tomato flavor and brightness was very much lacking. I added a splash of dry white wine and a few red pepper flakes, which helped. If I make this again (doubtful) I'll use tomatoes and let the sauce cook down. Also, I left the parm off the top...it has plenty of cheese in it already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedumpling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe was just OK for us. It wasn't bad but wasn't great either. Needed more sauce and hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was a really tasty recipe! I had to change the filling a bit though because I didn't have any cottage cheese, or green pepper. I ended up using: 1/2 cup light cream cheese 3/4 cup sour cream 1 cup grated motzza 1/2 cup yellow pepper It turned out really yummy though! I loved the combination of the tangy filling with the almost sweet meat and tomatoe sauce. Very good! Will deffinetly have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I made this the other night and it was delicious. I cut the recipe in half because it's only me and my husband and used a smaller square pan. I am vegetarian so I replaced the beef with a 12 oz bag of MorningStar "beef" crumbles. I put the green peppers in with the beef so that they were a bit softer. I didn't really understand the need to bake for so long (unless it was to cook real beef) and I left mine in the oven for about 15 minutes when the cheese was melted and it was delicious. Even my husband (non-vegetarian) loved it. And we both had it for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I helped my 12 yr old make this tonight. We followed the recipe exactly. The family didn't think it was all that great. Not nearly enough sauce. Plus, I can do without the layering in a seperate dish and baking too. Next time I make it, if there is ever a next time, I will mix everything together in the pan I make the sauce in. I think it also needs more meat and cheese for this amount of pasta. I also skipped the green onions...didn't have any. Not sure if that would have added anything to the dish....probably not. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is very good! I used 1lb of ground chicken and 1/4lb of ground beef. Gives it the beef taste without all the beef fat. I also used a full jar of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce. The whole family liked it which is an unusual event. Made enough to freeze half for a quick meal next week. Loved the recipe and will be using it again. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. Will do it again. Even better as leftovers. Next time i make this i will add more tomato sauce, it was just a bit dry. Otherwise my family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Reall good casserole. I pretty much followed recipe except I added a can of beef broth to sauce for more moisture, and skipped cream cheese, but added grated cheddar instead. We enjoyed this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe! The only thing I changed was using jar spaghetti sauce rather than plain tomato sauce. Very flavourful, and simply put, delicious! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is my husband's favorite! I make this one everytime I go out of town because I know it will keep him from eating fast food everyday! He even loved to share it with his guy friends, they all raved. Thank You. UPDATE: I have made this a dozen times now and I make the following changes to the recipes. First, I use a 26 oz. jar of prepared tomato sauce (sometimes more depending on how thick the sauce ends up), I use the whole 16 oz. cottage cheese (small curd) container because I have never found it in 8 oz., I omit the bell pepper (not our favorite, sometimes I substitute a red bell pepper, but it is good without), and top the whole thing with a couple cups of shredded cheese (mozzarella or Italian mixture). This is very thick, rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States