Hamburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I have made this cake several times and have found it to be easier to make peanut butter frosting for the bun rather than mess with food coloring. I also pour all the white cake batter in the oven bowl and cut it in half when cooled to form the halves of the bun. I also use the decorator icing or decorator frosting for the ketchup and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
It is a bit confusing not having all the ingredients at the top. I made this cake for my son's birthday using a brownie in the middle for the burger (no need to frost) and I used strawberries and kiwi for the tomatoes and lettuce. I used a bit of yellow frosting for cheese. To cut back on sugar content I used a yellow cake mix and opted to not frost the bun--I only used frosting in the middle for ketchup and cheese or mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I would have given this a 5 star if all of the ingredients would have been listed in the INGREDIENT section. Plus I don't like candy with my cake or brownies... so melting candy and using it as cheese didn't go over well... plus like other reviewers said, it gets hard after it cools... so it makes it hard to cut the cake... I would just omit the "cheese" all together... HAMBURGERS don't have cheese on them... cheeseburgers do... and since this is a hamburger cake... no need... if you really want it... I'd think of something else... To make the lettuce easier... just get a plastic baggie, green food coloring, and shredded coconut, put a few drops of food coloring in with some coconut and shake it up... I think coconut mixes much better with cake and icing vs some sweet candy. Anyway, hope yours turns out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendytails
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this cake last minute for a pool party. I didn't take very long to make it and it was very easy to do. I didn't add all of the topping listed. The only toppings I used were lettuce, cheese and mayo. Everything was buttercream except for the cheese I used fondant. I also made french fries out of sugar cookie dough and red frosting diluted with piping gel for dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendytails

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gourmet geek
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Great idea, something different from the same old layered cake and deceptively easy. I altered slightly by using fondant icing for the lettuce, cheese, onions and tomatoes. If I make this again I would use less sweet fillings and icings, by the time this is complete it's ALOT of cake and icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is very easy to follow.I just did mine all in butter cream iceing.I have been wanted to make one of these and as of today i made one for my neighbor boy's boy scout troop.They just thought it was the coolest thing ever.Thnx much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I hated making this cake for a lot of reasons: 1.It did not list all the ingredients you needed at the top. 2.It said to use white instead of yellow cake mix. Since white cake mix does not have egg yolks, the cake fell apart. 3.The ingredients that you needed that were not at the top were NOT stuff you normaly would have around the house. 4.The recipe was not very specific. 5.The recipe did NOT look like a hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer N.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is by-far the most fun I've ever had making a cake! Thanks SO much for posting this recipe! :) I think next time I make it I will try using fondant instead of candies for the toppings. Someone mentioned in their review to put crushed oreos in the chocolate frosting on the "burger" part of cake - that was awesome!! Really added texture! Great Idea! For the cheese, I used Peachy-O's candies (i washed off sugar, and microwaved to melt) then coated small square pan with cooking spray - dusted with white sugar, and poured melted peachy-o's in (sugar was to keep candy from sticking again). That came out of pan nicely, and square like slice of cheese. My white gumdrops for onions didn't turn out, so I omitted. Will add next time, when using fondant. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I thank you for such a creative and fun idea! I opted for a from scratch cake, but for kiddies the mix would be fine. I made this for my Dad's birthday....he's a burger freak and it got lots of laughs : ) Since it was for adults, I used candied orange for the "cheese" and candied mint leaves for the lettuce! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiM
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
used fondant to make tomatoes/lettuce.made choc. cake and crumbled it up, frosted middle cake(hamburger) & rolled it in the choc. cake crumbs (this made the hambuger look more like hamburger meat) BIG HIT with kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States