Hamburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I thank you for such a creative and fun idea! I opted for a from scratch cake, but for kiddies the mix would be fine. I made this for my Dad's birthday....he's a burger freak and it got lots of laughs : ) Since it was for adults, I used candied orange for the "cheese" and candied mint leaves for the lettuce! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I have made this cake several times and have found it to be easier to make peanut butter frosting for the bun rather than mess with food coloring. I also pour all the white cake batter in the oven bowl and cut it in half when cooled to form the halves of the bun. I also use the decorator icing or decorator frosting for the ketchup and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I hated making this cake for a lot of reasons: 1.It did not list all the ingredients you needed at the top. 2.It said to use white instead of yellow cake mix. Since white cake mix does not have egg yolks, the cake fell apart. 3.The ingredients that you needed that were not at the top were NOT stuff you normaly would have around the house. 4.The recipe was not very specific. 5.The recipe did NOT look like a hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
It is a bit confusing not having all the ingredients at the top. I made this cake for my son's birthday using a brownie in the middle for the burger (no need to frost) and I used strawberries and kiwi for the tomatoes and lettuce. I used a bit of yellow frosting for cheese. To cut back on sugar content I used a yellow cake mix and opted to not frost the bun--I only used frosting in the middle for ketchup and cheese or mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
cute♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
i made this cake for my dads birthday because he made the best hamburgers ever. I followed the instructions carefully but i was impressed that not all the ingredients werent at the top. Like the lettace, onions, tomatoes, ect. For the cheese it said to use fruit chews, but one you formed the cheese and you were all done it was hard again. Then it was very difcult to cut it because it smooshed the cake. So i would find a different food to use the cake if i made it again. But everyone that had the cake loved it and said it tasted wonderful. For the bun I only had a smaller bowl and it worked fine because i put it closer to the side of the cake. That way you could see all the lettace, cheese, tomatoes, ect. And it was alot easyer. Im going to post a picture of it on this website. I enjoyed the cake and was very excited about how it came out. I wouldnt recoment it for a begginer. But Im 14 and have made many cakes and it was easy for me. And i got many compilments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This cake was awsome. my friends thought it was kool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gourmet geek
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Great idea, something different from the same old layered cake and deceptively easy. I altered slightly by using fondant icing for the lettuce, cheese, onions and tomatoes. If I make this again I would use less sweet fillings and icings, by the time this is complete it's ALOT of cake and icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I would have given this a 5 star if all of the ingredients would have been listed in the INGREDIENT section. Plus I don't like candy with my cake or brownies... so melting candy and using it as cheese didn't go over well... plus like other reviewers said, it gets hard after it cools... so it makes it hard to cut the cake... I would just omit the "cheese" all together... HAMBURGERS don't have cheese on them... cheeseburgers do... and since this is a hamburger cake... no need... if you really want it... I'd think of something else... To make the lettuce easier... just get a plastic baggie, green food coloring, and shredded coconut, put a few drops of food coloring in with some coconut and shake it up... I think coconut mixes much better with cake and icing vs some sweet candy. Anyway, hope yours turns out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This cake was a lot of fun to make for Father's Day. It tasted great and impressed everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States