Hamburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jennifer N.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is by-far the most fun I've ever had making a cake! Thanks SO much for posting this recipe! :) I think next time I make it I will try using fondant instead of candies for the toppings. Someone mentioned in their review to put crushed oreos in the chocolate frosting on the "burger" part of cake - that was awesome!! Really added texture! Great Idea! For the cheese, I used Peachy-O's candies (i washed off sugar, and microwaved to melt) then coated small square pan with cooking spray - dusted with white sugar, and poured melted peachy-o's in (sugar was to keep candy from sticking again). That came out of pan nicely, and square like slice of cheese. My white gumdrops for onions didn't turn out, so I omitted. Will add next time, when using fondant. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I have made this 3 times and each time I got wonderful compliments. My daughter made it for an art class project and won first prize. It takes time and effort but it is well worth it. Kids will LOVE it! It's a great cake, perfect for a cook-out or kids birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is very easy to follow.I just did mine all in butter cream iceing.I have been wanted to make one of these and as of today i made one for my neighbor boy's boy scout troop.They just thought it was the coolest thing ever.Thnx much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This cake was a lot of fun to make for Father's Day. It tasted great and impressed everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I would have given this a 5 star if all of the ingredients would have been listed in the INGREDIENT section. Plus I don't like candy with my cake or brownies... so melting candy and using it as cheese didn't go over well... plus like other reviewers said, it gets hard after it cools... so it makes it hard to cut the cake... I would just omit the "cheese" all together... HAMBURGERS don't have cheese on them... cheeseburgers do... and since this is a hamburger cake... no need... if you really want it... I'd think of something else... To make the lettuce easier... just get a plastic baggie, green food coloring, and shredded coconut, put a few drops of food coloring in with some coconut and shake it up... I think coconut mixes much better with cake and icing vs some sweet candy. Anyway, hope yours turns out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gourmet geek
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Great idea, something different from the same old layered cake and deceptively easy. I altered slightly by using fondant icing for the lettuce, cheese, onions and tomatoes. If I make this again I would use less sweet fillings and icings, by the time this is complete it's ALOT of cake and icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This cake was awsome. my friends thought it was kool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
i made this cake for my dads birthday because he made the best hamburgers ever. I followed the instructions carefully but i was impressed that not all the ingredients werent at the top. Like the lettace, onions, tomatoes, ect. For the cheese it said to use fruit chews, but one you formed the cheese and you were all done it was hard again. Then it was very difcult to cut it because it smooshed the cake. So i would find a different food to use the cake if i made it again. But everyone that had the cake loved it and said it tasted wonderful. For the bun I only had a smaller bowl and it worked fine because i put it closer to the side of the cake. That way you could see all the lettace, cheese, tomatoes, ect. And it was alot easyer. Im going to post a picture of it on this website. I enjoyed the cake and was very excited about how it came out. I wouldnt recoment it for a begginer. But Im 14 and have made many cakes and it was easy for me. And i got many compilments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
cute♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
It is a bit confusing not having all the ingredients at the top. I made this cake for my son's birthday using a brownie in the middle for the burger (no need to frost) and I used strawberries and kiwi for the tomatoes and lettuce. I used a bit of yellow frosting for cheese. To cut back on sugar content I used a yellow cake mix and opted to not frost the bun--I only used frosting in the middle for ketchup and cheese or mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States