Hamburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great Idea, I just improvised and made "mini burgers" I made white cupcakes (sliced in half) and chocolate cupcakes, (using slices of the chocolate cupcakes as the hamburger patties) Then I made buttercream frosting and colored it according to the condiments.. I didn't bother to frost the tops.. just sprinkled with sesame seeds. I did however place a gummy pickle inside each one.. Coincidentally I found a bag of gummy cheeseburger parts at toys-r-us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Big hit at the BBQ! Everyone asked me if I was a professional cake decorator and it made my day. I didn't melt candy or anything, and instead used all frosting. The most difficult part was putting cookies on the chocolate frosting for a burnt look effect, because all the crumbs fell into the bottom "bun" and onto the ketchup/mustard. Anyway, it turned out great and was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sskemble
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was a fun cake to make! A little stressful in the beginning because I didn't have any brown food coloring for the bun, so I used a little chocolate frosting in the vanilla frosting. I also used some green dye in the coconut flakes for lettuce and only did the ketchup and mustard. For the seeds on top of the bun, I used slivered almonds. Brought on great excitement in my son's classroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I love it. So creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is so fun to do, especially with kids, thanks so much for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Cole Goode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Photo by wendytails
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this cake last minute for a pool party. I didn't take very long to make it and it was very easy to do. I didn't add all of the topping listed. The only toppings I used were lettuce, cheese and mayo. Everything was buttercream except for the cheese I used fondant. I also made french fries out of sugar cookie dough and red frosting diluted with piping gel for dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendytails

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myra Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I surprised my son at his 13th Birthday Cookout with this cake. I wasn't sure that I could pull it off because I can bake a great cake but I'm not the most confident decorator... I did it!! I took the advice of another reviewer and frosted it with Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting (perfect color, and YUM!) and I also baked the "bun" in a 3 quart casserole dish (for about an hour on 325)then cut it to form the top/bottom bun. Forming the candies into veggies was much easier than I thought it was going to be. I also made "french fries" by cutting cake in strips and icing it with "ketchup". FUN! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grottoes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiM
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
used fondant to make tomatoes/lettuce.made choc. cake and crumbled it up, frosted middle cake(hamburger) & rolled it in the choc. cake crumbs (this made the hambuger look more like hamburger meat) BIG HIT with kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Fun. Made for a friends birthday that loves hamburgers. I used coconut for the shredded lettuce and dyed the rest. I also put sesame seeds on the to bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States