Hamburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sskemble
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was a fun cake to make! A little stressful in the beginning because I didn't have any brown food coloring for the bun, so I used a little chocolate frosting in the vanilla frosting. I also used some green dye in the coconut flakes for lettuce and only did the ketchup and mustard. For the seeds on top of the bun, I used slivered almonds. Brought on great excitement in my son's classroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I love it. So creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is so fun to do, especially with kids, thanks so much for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Photo by wendytails
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this cake last minute for a pool party. I didn't take very long to make it and it was very easy to do. I didn't add all of the topping listed. The only toppings I used were lettuce, cheese and mayo. Everything was buttercream except for the cheese I used fondant. I also made french fries out of sugar cookie dough and red frosting diluted with piping gel for dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendytails

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyraBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I surprised my son at his 13th Birthday Cookout with this cake. I wasn't sure that I could pull it off because I can bake a great cake but I'm not the most confident decorator... I did it!! I took the advice of another reviewer and frosted it with Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting (perfect color, and YUM!) and I also baked the "bun" in a 3 quart casserole dish (for about an hour on 325)then cut it to form the top/bottom bun. Forming the candies into veggies was much easier than I thought it was going to be. I also made "french fries" by cutting cake in strips and icing it with "ketchup". FUN! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyraBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grottoes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiM
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
used fondant to make tomatoes/lettuce.made choc. cake and crumbled it up, frosted middle cake(hamburger) & rolled it in the choc. cake crumbs (this made the hambuger look more like hamburger meat) BIG HIT with kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Fun. Made for a friends birthday that loves hamburgers. I used coconut for the shredded lettuce and dyed the rest. I also put sesame seeds on the to bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Jennifer N.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is by-far the most fun I've ever had making a cake! Thanks SO much for posting this recipe! :) I think next time I make it I will try using fondant instead of candies for the toppings. Someone mentioned in their review to put crushed oreos in the chocolate frosting on the "burger" part of cake - that was awesome!! Really added texture! Great Idea! For the cheese, I used Peachy-O's candies (i washed off sugar, and microwaved to melt) then coated small square pan with cooking spray - dusted with white sugar, and poured melted peachy-o's in (sugar was to keep candy from sticking again). That came out of pan nicely, and square like slice of cheese. My white gumdrops for onions didn't turn out, so I omitted. Will add next time, when using fondant. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I have made this 3 times and each time I got wonderful compliments. My daughter made it for an art class project and won first prize. It takes time and effort but it is well worth it. Kids will LOVE it! It's a great cake, perfect for a cook-out or kids birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States