Hamburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Tastes like a hamburger and it is so good I might need REAL ketchup on it and mustard but yet it is so SWEET I wonder why
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was awesome! Mine came out really nice. I did the first part as written except I used yellow cake mix instead of white. Then for the buns I used vanilla frosting and mixed it with peanut butter, as others suggested, to give it the tanish color. I made lettuce and cheese with colored fondant, and I cut up pieces of red fruit roll-ups to make the tomatoes. Then topped with sesame seeds. Thanks for a cool idea for my burger loving fiance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KatieKat43
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made this for my meat lover boyfriend's birthday. Everyone thought it was so neat looking! The lettuce and cheese was hard to make!!! It didn't turn out much like cheese and everyone thought it was bacon! I microwaved the orange candies for 15 seconds and burned my fingers when I tired to smoosh them together. I suggest 8 seconds for two orange candies or 3 mint candies. I made the burger out of brownies and used chocolate stuffed oreo cookies (about 5) mashed in chocolate frosting. The patty looked the best! I also used chopped pecans for the seeds. Definitely making this again and hopefully will look a little bit better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKat43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This cake turned out amazing as it looked, and tasted even better, but I never actually got the cheese down, and that is the reason I put four stars. Otherwise it looked amazing, and can DEFINITELY serve 12, the only other problem wasn't even with the recipe it was just that I didn't have things like a 2 quart ovenproof bowl that was eight inches in diameter, and it doesn't tell you what kind of orange chewy fruit-flavored squares, or leaf-shaped spearmint gumdrops, or any candy lime slices. I definitely got the wrong brand because the cheese didn't work out very well at all, but I improvised and it worked out fine. Another problem with the cheese was that it says to microwave for 10-15 seconds, but I tried that and it didn't work so I went for thirty seconds, then a minute then two minutes, then resorted to actually putting it in the oven and baking it. But I didn't get orange chewy fruit-flavored squares, I actually got these orange gummy slices. I also didn't have any brown food-coloring so I made some kind of creamy frosting, and mixed in some chocolate frosting and it worked out perfectly. I also want to tell you that if you plan on making this (which you should be cause it is amazing!!!) then you should be prepared because this is harder than it looks, but once you have everything if you go one step at a time, then it should work out very well. Whoever made this recipe up must of been amazingly creative! Also it it probably serves more than twelve in the head. :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I haven't made this yet but I can't wait to make it. I don't understand how people are so mad about the omission of the vanilla frosting. If you read the directions you'll know you need it. Who doesn't read the directions first before deciding to make a recipe? Seems logical to read everything from the first ingredient to the last word before you decide to make it and then shop for the ingredients. Duh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixxiep

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Umm... wow. Made this for my husband's friend's bachelor party, and everyone loved it. Very easy to make on my time-crunched schedule. WMen and their hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Photo by wickengurly
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
i changed the rcipe a lot...i used 1 yellow cake mix and 1 brownie mix. the brownie in the center of the 2 layers of yellow cake looks just like a giant hamburger patty. i bought colored chocolates from michael's and melted them to make the cheese and hamburger toppings. i made this for my son's 12th birthday. everyone was impressed. lots of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Pretty difficult! but still very delicious! I left the sesame seeds because I didn't have'em in hand! I used flax seeds instead. Thnx for tis awesome Recipe my Recipe Gail !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zappet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great Idea, I just improvised and made "mini burgers" I made white cupcakes (sliced in half) and chocolate cupcakes, (using slices of the chocolate cupcakes as the hamburger patties) Then I made buttercream frosting and colored it according to the condiments.. I didn't bother to frost the tops.. just sprinkled with sesame seeds. I did however place a gummy pickle inside each one.. Coincidentally I found a bag of gummy cheeseburger parts at toys-r-us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Big hit at the BBQ! Everyone asked me if I was a professional cake decorator and it made my day. I didn't melt candy or anything, and instead used all frosting. The most difficult part was putting cookies on the chocolate frosting for a burnt look effect, because all the crumbs fell into the bottom "bun" and onto the ketchup/mustard. Anyway, it turned out great and was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States