Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made these EXACTLY as written and they turned out fantastic - but I think they could have used more liquid or less flour because they were a bit hard and didn't rise like the wonderful pictures others posted. Will definitely make again and adjust accordingly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
It was like biting into a sweet roll. Why would you use so much sugar? Way too yeasty tasting and mine did not raise as indicated and I had no oven spring to help out either. I'm a professional chef and I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Amazing... these buns were so easy to make and they tasted soo good. Only diff is I made the buns bigger once they rose the first time.. which ended up perfect for hamburger bun size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have always wanted to make my own buns, but I always waited until too late to get them going. These seemed easy & were ready very quickly. I made 2 batches with sesame seeds on top. In fact, I went to get my camera, when I returned they were mostly gone. Not enough for a Photo, anyway. They were a huge hit, I got credit for doing something spectacular, I didn't say how simple it really was. I am a master Baker, I always expect a good recipe to be difficult or at least a little time consuming... not. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boise Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These buns were pretty good, but not brilliant. They rose alright (I used fresh yeast and heated the milk to the right temperature), but I think I might have added too much flour as they came out very dry. I thought the dough needed more flour as it was (in my opinion) too sticky to knead or roll into balls. But maybe I was wrong.. I got 24 buns out of this recipe, but they were very small (despite rising), some too small to use for a normal-sized burger. After the rising, I brushed them with egg and sprinkled sesame seeds and brown flax seeds on top, which was a nice detail. I will make them again, and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laquey, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were very good. I scaled back the recipe to make 8 and brushed the tops with olive oil and sesame seeds before baking. The only thing I did different was used dried active yeast which meant I let the do rise in a warm oven for 30 minutes before shaping into 8 buns. I let them rise for another 15 minutes in a warm oven before baking. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Much better bread recipe than other ones on this site. The rolls were big enough for 'sliders' so I'll make them bigger the next time. I let the dough rise for 20 mins then I kneaded and let rise for a few more mins before cutting into rolls. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Sorry, but as a baker I didn't give these much hope, but tried them anyway - just as written. There is a reason for a knead, and a reason you don't use margarine! These are burger buns, not candy bars... what's up with all that sugar? And two packages of yeast? I figured it was the sugar and salt covering up the taste of the yeast. These were just not good, very heavy and doughy. Wanted to give a better rating, but if you're a bread baker you'll probably already guess that these won't be very good. My quest for the perfect bun continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Easy to follow. The buns were light and fluffy. I made half a batch and got six 4" buns. A little dry to eat the next day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States