Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and tasty! I used rice milk because of dairy allergies around here and it worked just fine. I found coating my hands with olive oil helped shape the dough without excess stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe was amazing!! So, my husband shot a deer this season and I was trying my hardest to make a 5 star meal out of the meat for our family friends one night. I made these buns to go on our feta avocado deer burgers. OMG it was amazing! I got rave reviews from everyone for the bread. My husband was upset there were none left over for him. But. I ended up giving him some of mine. He liked them so much im making them again today for my ground turkey buffalo & ranch burgers! Follow it exactly like it says and its fool proof! VERY VERY Delicious! Just like bread at Schlotzkys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
5 stars WITH the changes suggested by other reviewers. My family loved these. Perfect texture and taste. Changes: Halved the recipe to make 8 buns, replaced margarine with butter and put it all in my bread maker on dough cycle. (1.5 hours) Then I shaped the dough into balls and let them rise for a few more minutes before baking. My family doesn't want any other buns from now on and came up with a long list of other uses for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Not to self and others: Do not flatten the dough balls too much or else the buns expand out rather than up. Also, when scaling down, make 12 servings for 8 buns for larger burger patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These are awesome!!! I will never buy hamburger/hotdog buns again!! I think the problem other reviewers are having result from not reading the ingredients properly. I did what another reviewer suggested and mixed the first four ingredients (w/ cold milk and water) and zapped it in the microwave until it reached 115 degrees (two minutes and then one minute) before adding the yeast. I also used active yeast instead of instant and it did take a little longer to rise, but I expected this. I just need to work on sizing because because they came out huge!! But they are soft and tasty and so perfectly golden brown!! My new go-to bun recipe. These could even be eaten as rolls! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is a super-delicious, very reliable recipe. I've made it 2-3 times per week since I first tried it 6 months ago, because my family absolutely loves these buns. I form the dough into kaiser-sized buns and we use them for all of our sandwiches and burger buns. I also make smaller dinner rolls and long, skinny bread sticks, and also hot-dog style buns. I also use the recipe for pizza dough by subbing water for the milk and olive oil for the butter. But our favorite way to eat these is exactly as the recipe states, and I've never had a bad batch. Seriously! It's one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These were great if you're looking for a hamburger bun that is more like a roll - like to be used in a White-Castle type burger. I found them to be a bit too heavy for ordinary hamburgers, so for that I used a light white bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
they taste good but they turned out too heavy, i followed the recipe. could someone help me adjust this recipe so they are lighter? I'm a beginer at making bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Love this and is my favorite bread recipe! Tastes great and so simple to make. It doesnt take much time at all and I even used it to make bread bowls. I usually half the recipe and get 2 bowls. Only thing I've had to do different is lower the oven temp and cook a bit longer but thats probably my oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States