Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I scaled the recipe to 12 servings, followed it exactly as written and had excellent results. These rolls are so incredibly easy to make, and with one short 20-minute rise, FAST! I did use an egg wash and topped them with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and dried onion. I followed the recommendation of a reviewer and made eight instead of 12 which yielded good-sized buns. The texture is light and fluffy, but most importantly, they taste fantastic! This is now my go-to recipe for hamburger buns and is going into my Favorites folder. Thanks CHEERON883 for sharing because IMO this is 5-star all the way. UPDATE 8.19.12 Made half a recipe and ended up with four decent-sized hamburger buns and 6 slider buns. Tasty, as usual. ***UPDATE 10.7.13 Half recipe weighs 24 oz which will give you 12 slider buns @ 2 oz each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
These are so easy to make and taste great. I omitted the 1/4 cup water because I don't usually proof yeast and I used Red Star Active Dry because that's what I have on hand. The only thing I might change it to use less salt. I weighed the dough into 4 ounce portions and got ten 4" buns. I'll make them again but I'll add about 1 cup of whole wheat flour for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and tasty! I used rice milk because of dairy allergies around here and it worked just fine. I found coating my hands with olive oil helped shape the dough without excess stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe was amazing!! So, my husband shot a deer this season and I was trying my hardest to make a 5 star meal out of the meat for our family friends one night. I made these buns to go on our feta avocado deer burgers. OMG it was amazing! I got rave reviews from everyone for the bread. My husband was upset there were none left over for him. But. I ended up giving him some of mine. He liked them so much im making them again today for my ground turkey buffalo & ranch burgers! Follow it exactly like it says and its fool proof! VERY VERY Delicious! Just like bread at Schlotzkys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
5 stars WITH the changes suggested by other reviewers. My family loved these. Perfect texture and taste. Changes: Halved the recipe to make 8 buns, replaced margarine with butter and put it all in my bread maker on dough cycle. (1.5 hours) Then I shaped the dough into balls and let them rise for a few more minutes before baking. My family doesn't want any other buns from now on and came up with a long list of other uses for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Not to self and others: Do not flatten the dough balls too much or else the buns expand out rather than up. Also, when scaling down, make 12 servings for 8 buns for larger burger patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These are awesome!!! I will never buy hamburger/hotdog buns again!! I think the problem other reviewers are having result from not reading the ingredients properly. I did what another reviewer suggested and mixed the first four ingredients (w/ cold milk and water) and zapped it in the microwave until it reached 115 degrees (two minutes and then one minute) before adding the yeast. I also used active yeast instead of instant and it did take a little longer to rise, but I expected this. I just need to work on sizing because because they came out huge!! But they are soft and tasty and so perfectly golden brown!! My new go-to bun recipe. These could even be eaten as rolls! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is a super-delicious, very reliable recipe. I've made it 2-3 times per week since I first tried it 6 months ago, because my family absolutely loves these buns. I form the dough into kaiser-sized buns and we use them for all of our sandwiches and burger buns. I also make smaller dinner rolls and long, skinny bread sticks, and also hot-dog style buns. I also use the recipe for pizza dough by subbing water for the milk and olive oil for the butter. But our favorite way to eat these is exactly as the recipe states, and I've never had a bad batch. Seriously! It's one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States