Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
These are amazing! Great for sandwich rolls, or even just dinner rolls (sometimes I brush with minced garlic and melted butter to serve with Italian dishes). Recipe doesn't make 25 as stated, though. It yields about 15 rolls sized suitable for hamburgers or sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
New bread baker and really pleased. Cut recipe to make just 6 in case it did not work. Followed exactly (not sure how much yeast so used 1/2 tsp. Amazing - tomorrow making the whole recipe and going to sub some 9-grain flour. Did also find not large enough for a burger so will make them larger. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars because it makes fantastic dinner rolls! Just not what I wanted in a hamburger bun. Like other reviewers, I recommend heating the milk, water and butter together before adding to the yeast and sugar. For those who've never worked with yeast, the 5 minutes standing time is for proofing the yeast to make sure it's alive. Sometimes it takes longer than 5 minutes, so give it up to 10 minutes to get foamy before you start over with new ingredients. "Foamy" means that the liquids have expanded, but it doesn't always look like what I'd call "foamy." Make sure you take a good look at your mixture before setting it to stand, so you will know if it has expanded and that your yeast is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These were great for my first time making bread. I halved the recipe and since I don’t really eat white bread I substituted with whole wheat flour (accounting for the fact that it usually requires more liquid.) While they didn’t yield the half amount, they were really yummy and quick and easy to make. I’m fairly new to working with yeast but I do not think they would have turned out well had I never worked with yeast before. The directions do not offer much guidance apart from the bare essentials so I used the techniques from my other yeast recipes and some of the helpful reviews. Nevertheless, it’s a good recipe and I think this will be my “go to” for experimenting with breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPepper13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cave Hill, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I have made thesea several times..half hamburger and half hot dogs..I use the hamburger buns for sandwich buns too..Excellant recipe and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very easy and so much better than store bought! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
simple and easy. I put grilled onions on top. I did use regular yeast but it didn't take long. Will definitely make again. I like the idea of making these soup bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
For such a quick recipe, these are not bad. The batch I made were really 3 star buns, but I made lots of substitutions, so it wasn't a good test of the recipe. I was baffled by many previous comments about heating the milk. I've never heated liquid when using instant yeast (though it should be at room temp.) I subbed soy milk for the milk and olive oil for the butter, and still enjoyed the buns. I made only 12, but they rose well (in 20 minutes) and I ended up with 12 good size, rather dense, but tasty buns. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
These are awesome made them first time today I will be makeing these any time I want buns I followed the recipe exactly mixed them with my kitchenade and the dough hook though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Oh, yum! I made these tonight; I wanted to use up some leftover eggplant parmesan, so I thought I'd serve subs. I halved the recipe (just three of us) and shaped them into mini-sub rolls. I warmed the milk/water/sugar/butter mixture and used active yeast; placed them in a warm oven to raise for 20 minutes as directed. These buns were fast, delicious, and made the leftovers extra-special. I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States