Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had to make them twice. The first time I did not let them rise enough. They still tasted good but were hard. The next time I let them rise for 30 minutes and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I don't think I added enought salt. Otherwise they had a nice flavor. My family was impressed that I had made these from scratch instead of buying buns. Things are so tight right now everywhere we are trying to keep expenses down so this is a good alternative to buying commercial bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good basic buns. They were a little small, so I would make 8 instead of 12 if you want a burger on it. Also, I cooked it for a few mintes less than recommended, but I am at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. The rolls came out great. I did let them rise for over an hour though. I would recommend waiting for your yeast mixture to dissolve all the way and start to bubble. Great taste though, a little dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe....I like to use regular yeast, because I never use instant. I loved them for hamburgers and cold sandwiches, but found them too rich for something like sloppy joes/bbq. The rich flavor of the buns seemed to compete with them. Then I realized that the dough was so rich that it might be a very good sweet dough recipe; I doubled it and found that it was awesome made into cinnamon rolls and raisin bread, just adding the sugar/cinnamon mixture, a little extra butter (for cinnamon rolls) and raisins. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were very delicious. I cut the recipe in half and made four large buns to fit the hamburgers. I found the recipe yielding 25 buns to be a little over exaggeration. I also turned the heat up to 400*F to make the outside a little more crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Ellingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
good recipe, but need a very wide cutter (dessert bowl or wide mouthed jar) to get them wide enough for hamburgers. I had trouble with them coming out more like dinner roll size until the 2nd or 3rd time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The taste was fine, but the recipe did not make 25 "hamburger" sized buns. When I divided it, it was more like dinner rolls. I thought because of all the yeast and the reviews that it would rise better, but they really didn't rise that much. I also subbed 3 cups whole wheat flour for 3 cups of the white flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I am sorry, these were not what I expect a hamburger bun to be. They had way too much yeasty flavor- just too yeasty for me. I expected something sweeter and lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I'm not a huge bread person but my husband is. He gave these the "you can make them again" approval. I made them larger than the recipe called for and it yielded about 9. Next time I will still make them wide but flatter because they rose quite a bit more than I expected. I enjoyed the 20 minute rise time the most. Thanks for posting this recipe. I never have hamburger buns on hand when I want them and hate making special trips to the store. These would also work as dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States