Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrobert0808
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe ROCKS!!! This is the first time I've tried to make hamburger buns. I had to heat up the milk/butter/water/sugar mixture in the microwave to get it to the right temp. It took about 2 minutes to get it to the right temp. The yeast bubbled right up in the 5 minutes, once it was mixed in to the milk mixture. I like my hamburger buns big, so I made my initial dough balls bigger and baked 6 to a cookie sheet. I probably could have done 8, but they wouldn't have turned out as nice. I did brush with butter when they came out of the oven, just to give the crusts a shine. I'll be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy! These great buns took little effort and turned out perfect. I halved the recipe and made 8 rolls. We used them with Chef John's Sloppy Joes. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
i liked this Recipe but it was really hard to no what to do when I had to make it to 12 Servings and not 24,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beloved
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
These did not rise although they did turn out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great recipe. Very easy to follow. Mine rose perfectly and in hindsight, I made them way to big!! (made only 10) I'll have to work on that. But my trick for helping them rise is take a tea towel (the one you've been drying your hands on is best) if its not slightly damp then wet it and throw it in the microwave for 30 seconds or so. It'll come out pretty warm and I cover my bread or buns like that. Works every time for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These were very, very tasty but I think they taste more like a dinner roll not a hamburger bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very good recipe. Could be cook error but mine were a little less fluffy than I wanted. Delicious just the same though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
These turned out AMAZING!!! I did let my dough rise, and then let the rolls rise for longer........was raised up that way by my Grams! It doesn't feel right otherwise! They are so fluffy and yummy! Thanks for all the tips and hints everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angela
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe just as it is written..however, due to dairy allergies in our fam I substitute almond milk for the milk & coconut oil for the margarine. They always turn out great & now I don't have to buy buns from the store with ingredients that are gmo or that I can't pronounce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
To be blunt these were dry, bitter, heavy, and inedible. No one in my family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States