Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Good recipe. I halved it and it worked great. I found that nearly two hours were necessary for raising. These are more substantial and hold up better to juicy burgers than purchased buns. They're worth the time and effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This recipe is a pretty basic white bread mix, one I've made before. Very easy to make and the buns were great; since it's a basic recipe, you can add any herbs or seeds you'd like. Also, let the dough rise for 2 hours, not 20 minutes; 20 min just isn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These were great and my family really did think they were gourmet! I did, however, warm the milk in the microwave to about 110 degrees before adding the yeast and the rest of the ingredients. Next time I might brush the tops of the dough with egg whites and sprinkle sesame seeds. Now that I have made these, I don't think I could go back to regular, store bought buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe but it does better if you warm your milk - and if you aren't using rapid rise yeast, you better let it rise for a couple of hours with a wet, warm towel over it away from a breeze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Fabulous!!!....Very easy...very tasty..I used this recipe for every thing from hamburger buns to deep fried Italian Hot Dogs!...The only downfall of the recipe is that my family no longer enjoys store bought buns when I'm trying to make a simple hamburger dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I can't buy hamburger buns in our town and have been looking for a recipe that produces light buns -- this is it! Nothing heavy about these. I even used 2 cups whole wheat flour intead of white and they still came out light. I heated the milk and let them raise for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The taste and texture of these buns are perfect! I didnt alter any of the ingredients, though I did let the buns rise for about 2 hours (in the oven with a bowl of hot water underneath...this is the perfect rising method!) and I divided the dough into 8 balls instead of 25. Really a very good bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
These are excellent buns! Halved the recipe and used fat-free, lactose-free milk (a must for my husband), and 1 C of whole wheat flour. They were delicious - even when I accidentally baked the first panful at 400 (forgot to turn oven down when I put rolls in). I got 6 very large buns and 4 average size buns out of the halved recipe. Great with our burgers. I split, buttered, and toasted one of the very large ones for breakfast this morning. Wonderful! Will make again and again. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Surprisingly light for homemade buns. I usually end up with a denser result but was pleasantly surprised with these. I substituted bread flour and used fewer than 6 cups because of the higher protein content (i.e. it absorbs more water). I rolled out the dough after letting it rise a bit and used a large circular lid to cut out my buns. They came out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
i made the dough in my bread machine and then cooked them in the oven. they were lovely, so soft and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States