Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were very good. I scaled back the recipe to make 8 and brushed the tops with olive oil and sesame seeds before baking. The only thing I did different was used dried active yeast which meant I let the do rise in a warm oven for 30 minutes before shaping into 8 buns. I let them rise for another 15 minutes in a warm oven before baking. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Much better bread recipe than other ones on this site. The rolls were big enough for 'sliders' so I'll make them bigger the next time. I let the dough rise for 20 mins then I kneaded and let rise for a few more mins before cutting into rolls. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Sorry, but as a baker I didn't give these much hope, but tried them anyway - just as written. There is a reason for a knead, and a reason you don't use margarine! These are burger buns, not candy bars... what's up with all that sugar? And two packages of yeast? I figured it was the sugar and salt covering up the taste of the yeast. These were just not good, very heavy and doughy. Wanted to give a better rating, but if you're a bread baker you'll probably already guess that these won't be very good. My quest for the perfect bun continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Easy to follow. The buns were light and fluffy. I made half a batch and got six 4" buns. A little dry to eat the next day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
O! M! G!... I can make hamburger buns! Thank you, these were fabulous! I couldnt believe how easy and fast they were to make. I had to sign up and log in just to let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I made these after searching for egg-free hotdog buns. I followed other website instructions on how to create a hotdog bun - which are much more complicated that a hamburger bun. Anyways, I found they didn't rise well (even after following the instructions). They were more dense than fluffy. It could have been due to the 'hotdog' adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Recipe didn't need any modification at all, it came out to about 18 buns instead (about 0.3oz per dough) - yes, i measured my dough before shaping! also used 3 cups of bread flour and WW flour for the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These turned out great! But deffinatly don't think you are going to get 24 buns out of this dough! We made 12 buns and were perfect for our hamburgers! Put some egg wash on the top and some sesseme seeds before baking and it was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
i loved these buns for my mini burgers easy easy easy be a hit of the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I used this recipe to make mini hamburgers for a friend's baby shower, and was very pleased with the results. (I made a half-batch of the recipe.) I heated the first four ingredients in a saucepan until warm, but not so warm that it was uncomfortable to submerge a (clean!) finger. I also substituted butter for margarine, because that's what I had on hand. I moved the mixture to a medium mixing bowl, stirred in the salt, and sprinkled a couple of teaspoons of instant yeast over the top. As previous posters have noted, instant yeast does not require proofing, but I did wait a little while (while prepping some other toppings for the burgers) to see it start to act. Once it did, I proceeded as written until it came time to shape the dough. I made a dough tube, then sliced it into pieces that had about an inch to an inch and a half diameter and were an inch wide. This made over three dozen buns, possibly closer to four dozen. I let those rise, then they baked for 10-15 minutes, until they were lightly brown on top. They rose out more than they rose up, which ended up being perfect for my purposes, but may pose a challenge for larger buns. The resulting buns were light, had plenty of air, but also held up remarkably well to condiments and toppings. I am about to make them again for the second time in two days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States