Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Didn't get as many as recipe mentioned, but will be making again & bigger yet. I don't know why they didn't spread & shape better, but even if I only get a dozen out of a full recipe that is ok. Very easy to make. Dough was very sticky, so may have to add more flour than calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I have not tried this recipe yet, but am curious why all the reviews address warming the milk and water. The recipe clearly instructs you to use warm milk (110 degrees) and warm water. It also says to mix the first 5 ingredients and let stand for 5 minutes which is plenty of time to proof the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Super easy and quick. They're not light and fluffy if you like light and fluffy. I don't so I looooved these. They're sturdy with a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
this was really easy since I used the instant yeast, the one thing that I did that wasn't mentioned was, just b/4 I let it rise the first time I put a piece of saran wrap on my scale and weighed my dough, I then converted it all over to ounces and then divided by 25 and came out with .38 ounces just so all my buns were the same size. which is something that you're looking for when preparing food. the one thing that I did try was putting sesame seeds on the tops of my buns but the little devils didn't stay on. So I will try something different next time when I make these, which will be in about 3 weeks when I have the first summer kick off of the bbq season and will be doing a pork shoulder and I will need about 4 dozed of these lovely beauties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belen, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I used regular yeast and warm ingredients, followed the recipe as is with the 20 minute rise and they turned out great! I needed them fast and it took less than an hour start to finish. Update: this time I added a few tablespoons of dried minced onion and painted garlic butter on top then pressed in sesame seeds. Never had a problem,fast and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
fantastic! I halved the recipe and made mini sized buns for our sliders. I had no problems with the dough and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
You haven't had a sandwich or a burger until you've tried it on a homemade bun! The kneading was hard for me due to health/physical issues, so I cut the recipe in half and use my breadmaker for the kneading and first rise. I put the milk, yeast, and salt in the bread maker, let it sit for a few minutes (until foamy), then add all the other ingredients and push start. After the first rise, I punch it down, form my buns, let them rise then bake. I often add about 1/4 C. of nutritional yeast for nutritional purposes and they come out fantastic. Also, I'm at a low elevation/high humidity and must bake for less then 20 min (more like 15). So good my Pappa eats them plain like a dinner roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I scaled the recipe to 12 servings, followed it exactly as written and had excellent results. These rolls are so incredibly easy to make, and with one short 20-minute rise, FAST! I did use an egg wash and topped them with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and dried onion. I followed the recommendation of a reviewer and made eight instead of 12 which yielded good-sized buns. The texture is light and fluffy, but most importantly, they taste fantastic! This is now my go-to recipe for hamburger buns and is going into my Favorites folder. Thanks CHEERON883 for sharing because IMO this is 5-star all the way. UPDATE 8.19.12 Made half a recipe and ended up with four decent-sized hamburger buns and 6 slider buns. Tasty, as usual. ***UPDATE 10.7.13 Half recipe weighs 24 oz which will give you 12 slider buns @ 2 oz each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
These are so easy to make and taste great. I omitted the 1/4 cup water because I don't usually proof yeast and I used Red Star Active Dry because that's what I have on hand. The only thing I might change it to use less salt. I weighed the dough into 4 ounce portions and got ten 4" buns. I'll make them again but I'll add about 1 cup of whole wheat flour for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States