Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by angela
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe just as it is written..however, due to dairy allergies in our fam I substitute almond milk for the milk & coconut oil for the margarine. They always turn out great & now I don't have to buy buns from the store with ingredients that are gmo or that I can't pronounce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
To be blunt these were dry, bitter, heavy, and inedible. No one in my family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Definitely a keeper! Used butter vs. margarine and made 16 vs. 24 for a larger size, let it raise a bit longer than in recipe and also in a warm oven. Rubbed butter on top when I took them from the oven. So soft inside. Yum yum yum! For actual hamburger buns I'd make 12-14 just to make them just a wee bit bigger. Used them with shredded pork. Husband said, these would make great hamburger buns. Ha! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
These were very easy to make and the taste was good. I found that it took quite a long time to knead, however. They do rise considerably and I weighed the dough at 4.8 oz before rising and they came out too big for our tastes. Next time, I'll weigh them at 3oz and go from there. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These didn't poof at all. I halved the recipe and I am not sure what happened because I followed the recipe closely, but they didn't rise outside on inside the oven :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I've tried several bun recipes and this was by far my favorite. Perfect texture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Good flavor and really easy to make. I let mine rise for longer than 20 minutes. I let them sit in a warm (turned off) oven for about an hour. I also used active dry yeast in place of instant. The conversion is 1 1/4 tsp active dry per tsp of instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I find that if I use the full 6 cups of flour the rolls are not as light but if I use 1/2 less the dough is very sticky. I found this easy and I am an just learning how to make home bread properly. Does anyone have any suggestions? I wonder if the type of flour makes a difference and I use Rapid yeast in the jar. I also only make 12-13 because we like large buns and I also flatten them down because the rolls left in shape of ball were too high and too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bovey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
So easy to make :). I use spelt flour and its perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is simple and turns out perfectly. The warm water should be about baby bottle warm and combined with the warm butter it should be the right temp. Baking Bread is a science so play around with it. I also do not add cold milk. I use this for sandwich rolls, cinnamon rolls, buns and quick dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States