Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I made these after searching for egg-free hotdog buns. I followed other website instructions on how to create a hotdog bun - which are much more complicated that a hamburger bun. Anyways, I found they didn't rise well (even after following the instructions). They were more dense than fluffy. It could have been due to the 'hotdog' adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Recipe didn't need any modification at all, it came out to about 18 buns instead (about 0.3oz per dough) - yes, i measured my dough before shaping! also used 3 cups of bread flour and WW flour for the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These turned out great! But deffinatly don't think you are going to get 24 buns out of this dough! We made 12 buns and were perfect for our hamburgers! Put some egg wash on the top and some sesseme seeds before baking and it was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
i loved these buns for my mini burgers easy easy easy be a hit of the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I used this recipe to make mini hamburgers for a friend's baby shower, and was very pleased with the results. (I made a half-batch of the recipe.) I heated the first four ingredients in a saucepan until warm, but not so warm that it was uncomfortable to submerge a (clean!) finger. I also substituted butter for margarine, because that's what I had on hand. I moved the mixture to a medium mixing bowl, stirred in the salt, and sprinkled a couple of teaspoons of instant yeast over the top. As previous posters have noted, instant yeast does not require proofing, but I did wait a little while (while prepping some other toppings for the burgers) to see it start to act. Once it did, I proceeded as written until it came time to shape the dough. I made a dough tube, then sliced it into pieces that had about an inch to an inch and a half diameter and were an inch wide. This made over three dozen buns, possibly closer to four dozen. I let those rise, then they baked for 10-15 minutes, until they were lightly brown on top. They rose out more than they rose up, which ended up being perfect for my purposes, but may pose a challenge for larger buns. The resulting buns were light, had plenty of air, but also held up remarkably well to condiments and toppings. I am about to make them again for the second time in two days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I thought these buns were fab! I made them with half ap flour and half whole wheat for nutrional purposes. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These came out more like dinner rolls, but weren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had to make them twice. The first time I did not let them rise enough. They still tasted good but were hard. The next time I let them rise for 30 minutes and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I don't think I added enought salt. Otherwise they had a nice flavor. My family was impressed that I had made these from scratch instead of buying buns. Things are so tight right now everywhere we are trying to keep expenses down so this is a good alternative to buying commercial bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good basic buns. They were a little small, so I would make 8 instead of 12 if you want a burger on it. Also, I cooked it for a few mintes less than recommended, but I am at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States