Hamantashen II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I just made these and they came out great. The dough was very easy to work with, I needed very little flour when rolling it out. I cut the baking time to 15 minutes. I also used apricot, strawberry and raspberry jams instead of apple pie filling. Huge hit. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tami
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I was looking for a traditional hamentashen recipe and this was pretty close. the dough worked very well, and tasted very good . I did refrigerate it overnight which I think really helps , I dont think a few hours would do the trick. I filled mine with mini chocolate chips and strawberry jam . they were great! will make these again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were really good! Easy to make and tasty too. The filling I used was cherry preserves and I drizzled melted chocolate on top. People really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I have tried many recipes for this cookie. This is the best I have had. I recommend making them 2-3 days before serving. I made them with poppy seed filling. Everyone loved them. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very tasty dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam I Am
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
excellent recipe! After an unsuccessful try to make hamantashen that hold their triangular shape, I found this recipe, and it worked perfectly. I only baked the cookies for 13-15 minutes; it seemed long enough. Also, I used more traditional jelly fillings instead of the apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
The taste of the dough is great. I cooled it in the frige for about an hour. I followed the instructions and used 1 tablespoon preserves: apricot for some, strawberry for others. The first batch came out awful because 1 tablespoon of preserves is too much, it boiled and ran out. I tried different amounts and settled on 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon. the kids in my daughter's class loved them and asked for seconds. I will make these again and again with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is a great hamantashen recipe! I suggest rolling out the dough very thin, as they expand when they bake. Also, leave only a very small opening when pinching them closed because they open as they bake. I didn't do this for the first few and they came out almost flat (still yummy though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These came out wonderful and were so delicious. They tasted like the ones I remember eating from a bakery when I was a kid. I used mashed baked apples for the filling and it was so tasty. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I just made these for my Mishloach Manot (gifts for Purim) and they came out wonderfuly! The pastry was crispy and delicious. I added a cheese filling that I made up, which actulaay went very well. You just need to be careful to pinch them closed properly so they don't come open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States