Ham with Redeye Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I cheated and added a wee bit of flour because I wanted the gravy to be a bit thick. I served it with kale sauteed with garlic and popovers and it was fantastic! This dish must be an aphrodisiac, my boyfriend jumped me at the table the moment we were done eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This authentic recipe is easy on the budget and the taste buds. I made the recipe exactly as directed except I substituted a non-stick pan for the cast iron pan because I no longer have one. It still came out delicious, not too salty melt-in-your-mouth ham steak & fixin's. Fixed it with biscuits and sweet potatoes with some sweet tea. This is my idea of Southern comfort food. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
redeye gravy is a true southern tradition..there is even a little jingle.."grits and gravy and black eyed peas..doo da doo da...lol...we either had a ham steak with it or fried catfish but there were ALWAYS grits made with it instead of potatoes or rice. Oh..and the grits should be buttered, salted, and peppered...not sugared like cream of wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Medina, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My mom cooked the salt cured ham over high heat. Removed the ham and just added water. Removing all the ham bits and salt from the pan made the "red" color. Great on Biscuits and grits. She never used coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Tasty! Never made red-eye gravy before, so wasn't sure what to expect. I personally think I will use a little less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I absolutely loved the flavor of the coffee with the ham. It turned out perfect for the 2 of us and the little bit of leftover ham was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Note to those who want thick gravy...Find another recipe..This is exactly what redeye gravy is supposed to taste like..DO NOT add flour to thicken..this gravy is best served over grits or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Not very good at all. It didn't thicken up enough for me and tasted very bitter. We ended up dumping it out and just eating the ham plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had never even heard of redeye gravy so when I saw this, I was intrigued. I feel as if I must have done something wrong because I didn't like the end result of this. I come from Seattle where we love all things coffee related and yet, this wasn't what I imagined it would be or COULD be. Maybe I just need to go try it from someone who knows what they are doing with it >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SangGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I had never had redeye gravy and had only heard of it, so I didn't really know what the end product was supposed to be like. I poured most of the oil off before adding the coffee for the gravy--it seemed like just too much oil. I served the gravy on mashed potatoes. The gravy had an interesting and different taste, but I don't think I will make it again. Maybe it's one of those things you have to be raised on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States