Ham with Redeye Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
first red eye gravy ive ever made so like most first attempts it wasnt the best but good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
gravy was bitter, and tasted more like coffee grounds then some sort of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was fantastic. Just used a pat or two of butter, like others previously suggested, and maybe 1/3 cup of strong coffee. No salt was needed, because the ham and butter already had plenty. Using less coffee just meant it turned into more of a glaze as it reduced. Reminded me of my childhood and weekends with my grandparents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I had red eye gravy last night for the first time at a local restaurant. It was served over shrimp, grits and andouille sausage. It was one of the best things that I have ever put in my mouth! I set out to replicate it this morning and was very pleased with the results. Being a pseudo-southerner who was raised on milk gravy, I was not too Concerned with authenticity. I used butter instead of oil, smoked sausage instead of ham, thickened it with flour and added hot sauce and pepper for a little kick. It was soooo good served over grits and sausage with a little shaving of Parmesan over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
had come across "red eye gravy" in liturature several time. looked it up. the husband loves it. we eat it with grits rather than biscuits. good either way just like the conbination of gits and the gravey better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love redeye gravy. I use bacon drippings in place of oil. I never could get vegetable oil to taste right in redeye or tomato gravy. Come to think of it vegetable oil is a curse in any gravy. For those of you complaining about no taste, the ham you are using is most likely the culprit. In Louisiana we use the giant ham steaks with a bone on the center or the big smoked hams sliced to order. If you want a "thicker" gravy try tomato gravy. Redeye is a very brothy gravy. I sometimes add peppers and onions to mine for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Wanted to try it because I'm from the North. Didn't think we'd like it, but dinner has been over for an hour and my husband is still raving about it. It's the perfect foil for ham. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. it tasted like greasy coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is great, but I usually use 6 tablespoons of salt and nineteen cups of coffee. Happy Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I cheated and added a wee bit of flour because I wanted the gravy to be a bit thick. I served it with kale sauteed with garlic and popovers and it was fantastic! This dish must be an aphrodisiac, my boyfriend jumped me at the table the moment we were done eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czeri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States