Ham with Redeye Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
your mouth will water when you smell this red eye gravy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Coffee and ham together are delish! I use a pat of butter instead of oil, and don't add any more salt if the ham is really salty. I serve this with grits and biscuits and scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I have to admit, I was leary about making this, since I don't like coffee. But wow, it is reallllly good. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used butter in place of the oil. It just sounded better. Hubby complimented me on this meal more than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Great with grits and hot biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
My hubby took one bite and said, "Umm, this is good". The girls took a bite and said, "WOW, this is really good; give it four stars mom"! I took the advice from Cynthia and served it with scrambled eggs and grits. Thanks Norma, for finally a different way I can prepare my ham steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I really didn't care for this. Too salty and no taste. I'm feeling a buzz from all the coffee though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
It was ok but not like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This is a great recipe. I never knew exactly how to make this because noone in my family ever used a recipe and now they rarely cook country ham. I did not add any salt due to the country ham I had being particularly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I had never had redeye gravy and had only heard of it, so I didn't really know what the end product was supposed to be like. I poured most of the oil off before adding the coffee for the gravy--it seemed like just too much oil. I served the gravy on mashed potatoes. The gravy had an interesting and different taste, but I don't think I will make it again. Maybe it's one of those things you have to be raised on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had never even heard of redeye gravy so when I saw this, I was intrigued. I feel as if I must have done something wrong because I didn't like the end result of this. I come from Seattle where we love all things coffee related and yet, this wasn't what I imagined it would be or COULD be. Maybe I just need to go try it from someone who knows what they are doing with it >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SangGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States