Ham with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
very good. my kids had three servings, a miracle around here. the only thing i can suggest is to keep an eye on the glaze as it thickens in the pan. we added some water half way and checked often when basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe is really great! I bought a pre-cooked spiral sliced ham and just followed the cooking directions, which brought cooking time down to 1.5 hours. I gently rinsed off most of the included glazed first, and I also sprinkled extra brown sugar on the outside. It was very good and very visually impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Delicious. I made this for Easter dinner with a few modifications: used ground cloves and pineapple chunks instead. I threw it all in the crockpot- first hour on high and then about 5 hours on low. Came out so juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Fantastic recipe, my whole family was ranting and raving how delicious and juicy it was. I took note of past ratings and used a whole bottle (20 oz) of 7 up and extra pineapple syrup AND juice. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QuebecGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Simple and does the job. I used pineapple juice (we do not buy thy syrup kind) and replaced the brown sugar with a good quantity of maple syrup, like we do in Quebec where I grew up. I also added a quarter of an onion in the pan for added flavor and covered the ham losely with foil for the first 90 minutes. Baked until meat reached 140F, basting frequently after the first 90 mins. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCOTTYM
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
My dad has used this recipe for 30 years only without the soda. He made the change and loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Great, even without the soda. Just added more pineapple juice and the juice from the cherries. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is almost the exact recipe I use for my Easter and Christmas Ham. I decorate the ham the exact way as called for in this recipe. I use 2 cups brown sugar Preferably dark brown, Enough of the pineapple juice to make a wet sand consistancy, I add about a 1/4 cup of yellow mustard, 1 teaspoon ground cloves, and pour over ham then pour the rest of pineapple juice in pan and seal it with foil. I bake at 325 for 2 hours completely covered and then for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees, I baste with the juices from the bottom of pan every 5 minutes. If you completely seal the ham in the beginning, you will never have dried up juices. This is for an 8 lb or so ham. For a 12 lb ham, I would bake sealed for about 3 or 4 hours sealed and then the same for the last 15 minutes. I also thicken the juices at the end with a flour and water mix. My ham and sweet gravy has always been the talk of the dinner. My granddaughter always requests it during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I think this ham is great,but I probably should have used brown sugar instead of golden yellow sugar and pineapples in syrup not the ones in juice because my glaze wasn't that good.But next time i will follow this recipe as directed and i'm sure it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and everyone absolutely loved it!! It was easy to adjust the ingredients, and my boneless ham worked just fine. I put mine on a roast rack, and the only thing I would've changed was making more of the basting sauce since my pan juices dried up right at the end. I loved pulling a beautiful looking ham out of my oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States