Ham with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Never made ham before. Got a bigger ham. I used a crock pot/slow cooker, because there simply wasn't enough roon for my turkey and ham in the oven. Cooked on high for 1 hour, and low for 4 hours. I used 20 ounces of 7 UP. I used 15 cloves (didn't know if they would soften up, and YES they did). I did use a toothpick for the cherries and pineapple. The ham meat fell off the bone!! Next time I will not use the toothpicks. So, I won't have to dig into the meat for the toothpicks. Very tender, very tasty, thank U!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Best ham ever!!! I used a precooked ham butt. Not a spiral sliced because they dry out too much, but it was already pre-cooked. I used the juice from two cans of pineapple and about 1/2 cup more sprite. I also omitted the cherries. 12 lb ham cooked for 2.5 hours at 350. People literally said it was the "Best Ham they had ever had" Thanks for such a simple and traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking a ham and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was a wonderful meal. We all enjoyed it on Christmas day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is almost the exact recipe I use for my Easter and Christmas Ham. I decorate the ham the exact way as called for in this recipe. I use 2 cups brown sugar Preferably dark brown, Enough of the pineapple juice to make a wet sand consistancy, I add about a 1/4 cup of yellow mustard, 1 teaspoon ground cloves, and pour over ham then pour the rest of pineapple juice in pan and seal it with foil. I bake at 325 for 2 hours completely covered and then for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees, I baste with the juices from the bottom of pan every 5 minutes. If you completely seal the ham in the beginning, you will never have dried up juices. This is for an 8 lb or so ham. For a 12 lb ham, I would bake sealed for about 3 or 4 hours sealed and then the same for the last 15 minutes. I also thicken the juices at the end with a flour and water mix. My ham and sweet gravy has always been the talk of the dinner. My granddaughter always requests it during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Good ham! I didn't give it five stars because I think I liked the mustard and brown sugar glaze I tried last week better. HOWEVER, this was a very delicious recipe. Make sure you keep basting away. I added a little more brown sugar and used diet 7 up for the soda. I must say the presentation was beautiful. Lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyRaedio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Now that I make my ham this way, I am always requested to make the ham for holidays. The only advice I can give is to keep an eye on the ham and baste it every 1/2 hour. I also use the juice from two cans of pineapple rings and I eyeball the soda. If the sauce starts to get really thick, I just pour in a tad more soda. My husband, who doesnt like ham, ate it for 3 days straight!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron'sWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
made this for the second christmas in a row now. very good!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I followed this recipe almost perfectly. The only thing I did differently was buying a smaller ham and cutting the time down off it. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Really good ham. I cooked it in a bag, and it was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States