Ham with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
didnt have whole cloves and used ground 1's i also didnt use cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The ham itself was good with the cloves, pineapple and cherries but the glaze was tasteless. I think the problem is that the consistency is much too thin. I basted frequently. I made a special trip out to buy Sprite but I don't think it made any difference to the final product. So if you don't have any, no worries. I think I'll stick to my usual glaze recipe, which has a thicker consistency and really adheres to the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This came out yummy, yummy. I didn't have the soda, but I thought it was great this way - and also one of the closest recipes to the way my mom used to make ham for Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Super easy and a great tasting ham. My family loved it and even my girls got in on helping with all the cloves and stemming the cherries.! lol (I think you could cut down on the amount of cloves though, as it does add a VERY strong taste in the skin.) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Totally forgot to take a picture but it looked so nice my DD would not slice it but put the platter of ham on the table so every one could see it. My ham was a pre-cooked spiral ham so I made the recipe but wrapped the ham tightly in heavy duty aluminum foil in a pan and put it in the oven at 300 degrees for 2 hours. The ham was so moist. Every one asked if they could take a little home to have the next day. Will definitely make my hams this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Best ham I have ever ate! I have had trouble with the spiral hams because they always turn out dry. This recipe was the most moist ham I have ever made! I bought a 2L bottle of soda and just measured out 12oz on a measuring cup. One note: The presentation is not as elegant as going in as the pineapple, cherries, and skin do blacken some. I just removed any blackened fruit, before moving to a platter. The ham is delicous, so it really doesn't matter. I also just put the cloves in randomn spaces, using about 1/4-1/2 tsp. Anymore, and the ham would taste of nothing but cloves. I have made this ham about 4-5 times and it is always enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe and the pineapple and the cherries turned brown. It takes about 4 hours for a 12 lb ham to cook and this is too long for pineapples and cherries. Follow your butcher's cooking instructions instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is pretty much the same recipe that my family has been using for years...the only thing we really do differently is use a little more pop and save mixing the sugar with the juices until the end when the ham is done. (so you have to figure in some extra time for basting) Then we pull the juices from the pan and then mix with the sugar, while keeping the ham covered in between basting, baste every 15 mins for about an hour or until you are ready to eat. If you want, put it in the warm oven inbetween to keep it warm. If you think the ham is drying out during cooking take the pan juices and baste every so often. Also we put foil over the ham in the roaster to keep it really sealed. Fantastic!!!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Made this for Christmas dinner 2009 and everyone loved it. Best ham ever. I will be using this recipe again for Easter. Awesome+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Great Pie Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States