Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lindsy
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have made this ham 2 times and I will again on Easter. It is absolutely wonderful. My favorite type of ham to use is a Sugardale spiral sliced ham. Best flavor and always super tender and moist. I read most of the reviews and I see that everyone seems to be having the same problem. No ones glaze seems to thicken. I have always made more glaze than called for. I use about half when I first put the ham in the oven. I put the rest in a large pyrex measuring cup and allow to cool on the counter while the ham cooks. It DOES thicken as it sits and cools. And it WILL glaze the ham if you just continue to baste it about every 20-30 minutes. But overall it is an amazing recipe and I had never made a ham before in my life and my first one was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I was looking for something simple and the others were all to much for making a ham for 4. This recipe turned out great and really helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
So delicious! Ever since I found this recipe, it is the only ham recipe that I've used. I make the glaze in the microwave, then pour it over the ham in a roasting bag. I then cook per package instructions. So tender and juicy, and the glaze tastes great as a gravy for mashed potatoes or over a ham sandwich maade from leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggiesgirl1945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Great recipe - I made this glaze for a 10-pound ham and it was perfect. I scored the ham and added whole cloves for a beautiful presentation. I received great complements and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
added pineapple slices and maraschino cherries. that w/ the glaze was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was sooo good. The only thing I didn't do was put the cloves in there because of my families personal taste. Will be adding this to my list of "Use OVER AND OVER" recipes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYSAN01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe had everyone wanting seconds. My glaze never thickened that well so I just basted some of it on the ham and it still was full of flavor. I will continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A very good recipe..I used crushed pineapples along with the juice to make the glaze. It also made the ham look very nice after it is cooked. The glaze didn't get thick but I basted it often and the ham was very moist. I also added about 1/2 tsp. ground cloves to the glaze. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newfield, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I had a 2 lb. turkey ham and wanted a good glaze. this was AMAZING, my husband loved it and he is very hard to please. He said he wouldnt mind eating this all week. Fresh pineapple was on sale so i took a couple of cut up pieces and put them in the blender, everythign else i kept the same i wanted to make sure to have enough glaze. best glaze ever, i was amazed it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this spiral ham for Christmas using a 10 lb. ham. I doubled the glaze although I found out afterward I really didn't need to. I'm sure the glaze as is would have been fabulous but I had to modify it due to ingredients on hand. I put my pineapple slices and cherries on the ham then poured some of the glaze over all before covering tightly with foil and baking at 250 degrees for 2 hours. I then raised the oven temperature to 425 and added more glaze and put the ham back in the oven uncovered for another 10 minutes. It came out moist and delicious. Best tasting ham I've ever made. Note: These are the changes I made in the glaze (which did not thicken like a regular glaze). I used 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves along with the pineapple juice, brown sugar and honey. Instead of juiced oranges, I used 1/2 cup full pulp orange juice (which may have been a little too much...I'll try 1/3 cup next time). Since I still had leftover glaze in my saucepan even after serving it with the sliced ham, I've used the rest as a sweetner for my hot tea and stir it with a cinnamon stick. It makes a great spiced tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States