Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was out of honey so I substituted 1/2c maple syrup, I used ground cloves and a splash of regular OJ. It liquefied in the bottom of the pan, but it did leave a glaze on top of the ham and it left the ham moist & tasty from sitting in the juices. My picky 2yr old ate 2 slices! I'll try it again & next time use honey, but it turned out fine this way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cridersville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
It turned out great it was fast and easy to do and i could find all the ingredients with no problem. My whole ham was gone that day everyone loved it i will make again. My glaze never thickened too maybe next time i will see what went wrong but other then that it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
The glaze was really sweet, but good. I could only find a 6.5 lbs ham. It was definitely not as hot as I wanted after about 1hr 10min. But I didn't expect it too. Add more time for larger hams. I followed the glaze recipe very precisely but it never "thickened". It was pretty decent overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Really made a nice 'crust' on our ham, and it was very moist. I used ground cloves and a tablespoon of dijon mustard. Let everything reduce down and then basted the ham on low temp for a couple of hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe is great. It made a nice tender, juicy ham with just the right touch of sweetness. My family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent!!! The glaze was fantastic! Many of our guests used it to top there potatoes and rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. I followed it perfectly but it just didn't glaze like I thought it would. The ham was good but not nearly as good as I had hoped. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Like Alethea, my glaze never thickened but I did use Splenda's half and half brown sugar mixture and maybe that had something to do with it. I also didn't stick cloves in the ham, I added half a teaspoon of ground cloves to the glaze. All in all, this smells wonderful and I'm excited about serving my first ham to my husband and kids for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is the best recipe for Honey Baked ham. It is all natural stuff and your not using the packet that comes with the ham. We use this recipe everytime we make any type of ham. Thanks you for putting it on the website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
So delicious! Ever since I found this recipe, it is the only ham recipe that I've used. I make the glaze in the microwave, then pour it over the ham in a roasting bag. I then cook per package instructions. So tender and juicy, and the glaze tastes great as a gravy for mashed potatoes or over a ham sandwich maade from leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggiesgirl1945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States