Ham Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
We threw in a few changes to the recipe and loved it. Added some diced onion and garlic, and doubled the green pepper and ham. First cooked the green pepper and onion in the butter, then added the mushrooms, cooking until they started to give up their liquid before adding one large, minced garlic clove. Poured off the mushroom liquid (reserved) after the garlic started to soften, then added the ham, cooking until the ham softened up. Then mixed in about a 1/2C of flour, the black pepper, 1/4t each thyme and parsley, and cooked for a few minutes to lose the pasty-ness, before adding about 2T white zin wine, the reserved mushroom liquid, about 1C water, and 12oz evap milk; bringing to a boil to thicken the sauce before adding the parmesan cheese and 8oz spaghetti noodles. Didn't bother putting it in the oven (we were hungry!), though that would probably add to the flavor. Topped each serving with an italian cheese blend. Tons of flavor and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I liked this recipe because it was a twist to my normal chicken tetrazzini that I make and my husband loves but...I tweaked a few things. Instead of the bell pepper I used frozen peas and also used chopped onions. The only beef I have with this recipe is that I would not use the cream base- substitute it with an undiluted can of soup, like cream of mushroom or celery just to give it that creamy thickness that I didn't get from what was called for. Other than that, I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKSATHER2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Very good, but was a little dry, so I added a can of cream of mushroom soup. Also added a can of peas. Topped it all off with cheddar cheese. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Good. Light and satisfying. Great for leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was okay. I rated it as a three as it is something I would eat and tastes decent but not good enough to make again. Only thing different I did was added a cup of shredded cheddar cheese for more flavor. Even so, I didn't think it had enough umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARATHONMOMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I quite liked this - I used a whole green pepper, shiitake mushrooms, and added a shot of tobasco to the sauce, along with a small dollop of dijon mustard and some basil. I also used more pasta than called for, which meant that I was a little under-sauced, but it was still tasty. I'll definitely make it again - a non-detrimental creamy sauce is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
After reading other reviews, I prepared this adding Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and frozen mixed vegetables (broccoli, carrot pearls, soy beans, onions). Still, it was way too bland. I won't make this again. It's ok if you like bland, but we like flavor. It would have been better with cheddar instead of parmesan; and the sherry was undetectable. Other than that, it still needed something for a kick. I can't put my finger on it. But it doesn't have enough promise for me to try this again in a doctored state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Wnderful! I used zucchini instead of peppers, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I thought this was excellent! My fiance loved it. I added more pepper to the flour, along with 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and 1 tsp. italian seasoning. Hard to believe it was light! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe tastes amazingly rich for a light white sauce. Definitely didn't taste like a trimmed down recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States