Ham Stir Fry with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This was a very good supper my kids all loved it. I did change it a bit. I used brown rice instead of couscous and I omitted the sugar water chestnuts and almonds. It was very tasty and I will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Kaye Z
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My fiance and I loved this recipe! It was fast and tasted really good! I used stir-fry sauce instead of soy sauce and all broccoli instead of a cauliflower and broccoli mix. I added more ham than needed also and a few more waterchestnuts as well. This was really good and we will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kaye Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
OUTSTANDING! My whole family loves this dish, it's now my husband's favorite. It was also a great introduction to couscous, something I had never made before but make often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a colorful, simple, delicious dish. It would be very good served over rice too. We omitted the almonds because of allergies, and the kids would have done better without the water chestnuts, but I loved them. I'm definitely going to make that one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe when your tired of the same old stuff for dinner. I used a pre-packaged fresh brocoli and carrot stir fry (obviously left out the sauce). Left out water chestnuts because I just couldn't find them. I only used 2 tablespoons of cornstartch. I thought 1/4 cup was a lot. I dilute my cornstartch with a few tablespoons of very cold water before adding to any recipe. That way you don't use as much and aviod it from turning to sludge later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KABINCT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe for all that leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We served this atop basmati rice instead of couscous, and I am quite certain that was a good choice. Additionally, as my daughter has a ginger allergy, I substituted paprika for ginger and used a soy substitute from this site for the soy (Mom & daughter both cannot eat soy). Everyone agreed this was THE best stirfry they'd ever had (& I stirfry often!). The soy sub had a little molasses in it, which added a really gentle sweetness to the brown sugar, and the ham we used was an apple smoked ham from Trader Joes. Without the water chestnuts on the pantry shelf, we did miss that little extra crunch, and will add it next time. Yes, there will be a next time. YUM! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
YUMM-O! My family even liked the couscous (which is saying a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was delicious. Great flavor, just added some sugar snap peas in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I loved the sauce. Super easy! The only difference is I used veggies I had on hand and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States