Ham Stir Fry with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
YUMM-O! My family even liked the couscous (which is saying a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We served this atop basmati rice instead of couscous, and I am quite certain that was a good choice. Additionally, as my daughter has a ginger allergy, I substituted paprika for ginger and used a soy substitute from this site for the soy (Mom & daughter both cannot eat soy). Everyone agreed this was THE best stirfry they'd ever had (& I stirfry often!). The soy sub had a little molasses in it, which added a really gentle sweetness to the brown sugar, and the ham we used was an apple smoked ham from Trader Joes. Without the water chestnuts on the pantry shelf, we did miss that little extra crunch, and will add it next time. Yes, there will be a next time. YUM! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe for all that leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Just what I was looking for! Needed a recipe for ham with lots of vegetables and this foot the bill perfectly. I followed the other reviewers suggestions in using only half the brown sugar and no water chestnuts or almonds (didn't have them anyway). The sauce was delicious! I used a capri vegetable mix (zuchinni, yellow squash, green beans, carrots) which worked out well. I used orzo pasta which I wouldn't recommend, but it was fine. Next time will try couscous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Great recipe when your tired of the same old stuff for dinner. I used a pre-packaged fresh brocoli and carrot stir fry (obviously left out the sauce). Left out water chestnuts because I just couldn't find them. I only used 2 tablespoons of cornstartch. I thought 1/4 cup was a lot. I dilute my cornstartch with a few tablespoons of very cold water before adding to any recipe. That way you don't use as much and aviod it from turning to sludge later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KABINCT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
very tasty. added red pepper, onion, and omitted cauliflower. also used vegetable broth and tofu instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Do not put in the water chestnuts or the almonds. I love almonds and even though there's only 2 tbsp. of it, everytime I took a bite, that's all I could taste. The ham was great in it, I put much more because I feared that all I would taste were the vegetables. Also use caution if you add a little bit of water. It will start sizzling and you could get a minor burn.(You don't even need to add water ) Other than that I think you'll enjoy it. Even though I HATE cooked broccoli, I could barely tell it was broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This was okay. Something new to do with the Easter ham leftovers. Doubt I will be making it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I was trying to use the leftover ham and only ingredients that I had in the house. I was in the mood for fried rice so here's what I did: I put about 4 c. of cooked jasmine rice, all of the ingredients for the sauce in with the garlic cooked in oil. I stirred it and added chopped ham. I left out all of the veggies, the water chestnuts, and the almonds (although I probably would enjoy the almonds). I also added about 3/4 c. of raisins. It was sweet but we all enjoyed it this way, especially the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This was a very good supper my kids all loved it. I did change it a bit. I used brown rice instead of couscous and I omitted the sugar water chestnuts and almonds. It was very tasty and I will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States