Ham Stew for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is one of my all time favorite stew recipes. I triple it to feed my family of 6 and there is never any leftovers. I make it as written and it's very scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was simple and used ingredients that I already had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I tripled it. I didn't have any onions, so I skipped that. Used some Sazon, may have put a little too much in, for it came out a little salty. I used half the amount of carrots. Although, I think I will use the recommended amount, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I liked this, especially when I consider how easy it was to make and it only took 20 minutes. I didn't have red potatoes, but I had a potato called a golden honey potato that is about the same size as red potatoes. I used 4 and quarted them. I don't have savory, so I used a pinch of oregano and also the same amount of the black pepper. For the ham, I used a 1/2 piece of leftover pre-cooked Smithfield bone in style ham I cubed. By the time I added all the vegetables and ham, I needed to add an extra 1 1/2 cups of water to cover them. It took about 18-20 minutes for the vegetables to soften and then about 2 more minutes once adding the milk and flour mixture. It made an easy meal tonight, with what I already had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
My son and husband said we must have this again. I made as directed, but I used beef stock because what I had was about to go bad. I used Honey Baked Ham and doubled the recipe since I had three eating. I may have added more ham than called for. There were no leftovers and both men asked me to make it again. That's high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is soooooo good.......a great recipe for leftover ham. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was SO good and SO easy to put together and I love the fact that it tastes like I slaved on it forever lol. This one is going to def be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is good stew and a nice way to use up that left over ham. I used the suggestions above and added some bouillon. I also threw in some peas and a dash of celery seed. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Perfect as is! I've used both leftover ham (from our Easter dinner) and ham steak from our local large grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I really enjoyed this! I could've eaten the whole pot by myself. I made some changes, not because I felt they were needed but just what I had on hand. I used regular potatoes, green onion because I had some that needed using up, frozen mixed veggies instead of carrots (didn't have any on hand) and thyme. I also added half a chicken boullion just for a bit more flavor:) I will definitely make this again and again and again, it thickened up beautifully with the milk/flour mixture! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States