Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. However, it turned out a little dry and needed some zing. I had used mayonnaise and added an extra 1/4 cup, which fixed the dryness. I also added an additional teaspoon of pickle relish but it still could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I loved this. First time every I have ground ham and it was fun. I made tortilla roll ups with this for an event at our local police station and these were a big hit with the officers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Ick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My husband loved it!! Very good. I will use again and again. Much more cost effective and tasty then buying spread from store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great use for leftover Christmas ham! Even my 3yr old daughter liked this. I added extra mustard, but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out yummy. Don't have a food processor, but used a hand-chopper and the ham got diced up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great base recipe for those of us that like to tinker with recipes. I had 4 cups of leftover ham that I ground. I mixed in the pickle relish and other ingredients in recipe. I did add about 1/3 C. diced pineapple (that was cooked on my ham) and added 1/2 an 8 oz container of whipped cream cheese. I also added minced grn onion and a few shakes of hot sauce. YUM! I don't recommend adding salt until you taste it. Let rest in fridge overnight & then, YUM - on crackers, rye bread, whatever...I love it with my few modifications! Idea/Edit: I only had about 1 C ground ham I needed to use or toss out. So, I mixed in liver sausage (about 1/4 C) and rest of ingredients with a few tweaks. Another yummy spread. Just giving ya'll ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Yum! I had two thick slices of ham leftover from Thanksgiving (maybe 2/3 or 3/4 of a pound total), I omitted the onions, I used more like 2 or 3 tablespoons of dill relish, the teaspoon of mustard, and maybe 1/3 cup of mayo as I don't care for Miracle Whip. I didn't measure anything, just added it in. Oh, and I don't have a food processor, just one of those little mini-choppers. I chopped the ham up (took maybe five or six pulses) then put it in a bowl and added the other ingredients. It tasted great immediately after mixing, I'm sure it'll be much better after sitting in the fridge awhile! A quick and great use for leftover ham. Thanks, Pat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Easy. I did the whole thing in the food processor starting with the onions. I used a bit more than 1/4 cup mayonnaise in place of the Miracle Whip. I also used twice the amount of relish (sweet) and yellow mustard. 4 stars because it's easy but not THE BEST ham spread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
My husband requested a ham spread for sandwiches but I've never tasted one before, let alone made one. The first time I made this recipe I used mayo instead of miracle whip, opting for the olives instead of the relish. He liked it, but said it needed more "zing." With the second try, I used a mixture of Miracle Whip and and mayo (we are cutting down on sugar, which Miracle Whip contains) and he said it was perfect! I like it very much as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Not too bad! I have been looking for a ham spread recipe like my mom used to make when I was a child and this one may be a good place to start. Will have to "fiddle" with it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States