Ham Salad Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I did cut the sour cream in half and mixed it with mayo. I wasn't sure from the recipe if the ham should be diced or ground up. I had a ham steak and I decided to grind it up in my food processor. It made a tasty sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Pineapple works brilliantly instead of grapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I am rating this recipe based on some changes (half light mayo half light sour cream, toasting the almonds, adding toasted sunflower seeds, substituting some cilantro and celery for the green onion because that's what I had on hand), but I think it turned out really well! The flavors balance nicely and though I was a bit skeptical about the grapes, they are delicious! I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My husband was skeptical about this recipe. He has asked me to make some ham salad with our leftover Christmas ham, but when he read the recipe he wasn't conviced. I made this as well as the normal mayo, pickle, etc. ham salad. He like this one better after all. My daughter also ate this very well and it went great with pitas. I did use 1/2 the sour cream and lemon and I am glad I did, it wouldn't have suited our tastebuds as well if it were much more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
We added bagged coleslaw mix to stretch the recipe for our large family, and used turkey ham as we don't eat pork. Also added a bit of curry powder and sweet relish as per other reviewer's suggestions- delicious! Thanks for a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe! It was the perfect ending to the leftover Christmas ham. I made it twice, but the second time, I put the ham in a food processor. This made the perfect texture and it really mixed well. My too little boys loved it which is saying alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Kendrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My husband and I were pleasantly pleased with this recipe. I did like some other reviewers suggested and used half mayo half sour cream, because it seemed like a lot of sour cream to me. I also used half the lemon juice called for and added some relish for sweetness. The relish helped to balance the sourness. As the grapes weren't looking very good in the grocery store I used a green apple instead, and it complemented the ham just as well as the grapes would have. Very tasty and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
It was very sour. The other reviews say to add mayo. Now I know why. The lemon and sour cream make a very tart salad. My husband and I hated it. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I used canned chicken instead and loved it. Its great cold-easy to fix and is a good idea for lunches when you are tired of the same old same old. Grapes remind me of Arbys Chicken salad sandwich - is soooo goood. think i will try on toast too. Maybe some lettuce would be ok? I dont like onions that much so i didnt add thoses either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This recipe was okay.....the best thing about it is how quick and easy it is to prepare, which really helps on busy nights. My husband didn't like it, I thought it was okay, and my oldest daughter liked it a lot. I used half sour cream and half mayo, spicy brown mustard as well as the yellow, and some sweet relish. I just don't think that I'm a ham salad fan, so the recipe itself isn't bad, just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States