Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just like the store-made stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
For me, this recipe made way too much dressing for the rest of the ingredients. Didn't really care for the relish element either - just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I like it, made a couple changes. About half the salt is plenty. Also, I prefer using an old fashioned grinder and running ham, green pepper and bread & butter pickles thru the grinder. I also added about 2 Tbsps of ground mustard. Great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful *base* recipe to use leftover ham in a hurry. However, as written, this recipe uses too much onion and is too salty. The longer you keep the dish in the fridge, the stronger the onion will become. The first time I made this, I couldn't get enough and was eating right from the processor. The next day, the onion had consumed the flavor the ham and I couldn't get past the first bite. This time I used about 2T of chopped white onion; enough to taste it the first day and enhanced the flavor of the ham the following day. I used 1 C Smart Balance light dressing in place of the mayonnaise. Since everyone seems to have their own mayonnaise preference, you may want to start by adding 1/2 C at a time. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1/2 sweet and 1/2 dill relish. The sweet relish provided a nice contrast to the ham and onion. There really isn't a need to mix the wet ingredients separately. I threw the diced ham, onion and celery in the food processor and pulsed until I was happy with the consistency. I transferred the ham mixture to a storage bowl then added the dressing and relish. This meal is designed to be enjoyed over a few days. Since the original recipe didn't taste good beyond day one, I had to give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made a batch of this for lunch and it was really good. Its your typical ham salad but I really enjoyed the addition of bell peppers crunchy yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
my family loves this. i dont put in the onion or pepper though. they ask me to make ham all the time just so that i will make this with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This makes a great dip for crackers. Very addictive! I don't even care for ham that much and absolutely could not stop eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent ham salad recipe. I didn't have any peppers so I added extra celery and I used red onion....definitely will use all my leftover baked ham slices for this ham salad. Makes a great lunch. I put everything in my mini-processor and only used half the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Never made h.s before but mom did. I like to doctor stuff so I used the ham, dill pickle with dash of splenda, pepper, celery, mayo,and little bit of left over long grain wild rice. With these I did not need to add extra salt and splenda to cut back on sugar in sweet pickles. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States