Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I had 1/2 lb of smoked ham left, which was perfect for 4 servings of this recipe. It was tasty after I put it together, but another spin around the processor gave it a smoother texture which was more what I was after. Based on reviews I didn't add the salt, and it was scrumptious on crackers. I'm sure after a few hours in the fridge the flavors will blend even more. We'll probably sprinkle a little salt and cayenne on top, once it's piled on a cracker. Will probably add a dollop of mustard to the next batch, but regardless, this is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BKBISHOP
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I gave this 4 stars because as written that would have been way too much mayo and salt for an already salt cured ham. I was looking for something that was like my mom's ham salad recipe. This was close but I tweaked it to make it like hers. I can tell you that I used probably 3 lbs of ham and cubed it and then put it in the food processor to finely grind it. My mom used a meat grinder back in the day. I removed the ham to a large bowl. Then I chopped the onion and celery and put it in the food processor to finely chop. I did not add salt or pepper, nor did I add the green pepper because we don't like the flavor in ham salad. I added the onion and celery in the amounts written to the ground ham and about 1/2 cup of sweet relish and then just added mayo to the consistency that I wanted the spread but it was way less than 2 cups, I used probably half of that. When you grind everything down, the mayo spreads out better and you require less of it. This spread is perfect in sandwiches or on crackers or bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dick
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
The best ever, ever, the James Beard House would be proud to serve these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made the ham spread this morning, I used half mayo and half miracle whip and just a dab of sour cream. I didn't add any salt, the ham has enough in it ( smoked ham ) . I used a dill pickle i had on hand from Jimmy Johns, and some sweet relish . red bell pepper , celery chopped small and a little red onion to my liking . it's one of my husband's favorite ways to have left over ham from any holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I apologize for not posting a picture. This Ham Salad was gone before I had the opportunity. I made the recipe as written. I have thrown Ham Salad before, and was unimpressed. I had a leftover 1/2 pound of BOARS HEAD deli ham that I needed to use. Using the Awesome tool or ALLRECIPES I adjusted the recipe. Now for all those whiners out there who complained up "too much salt", DUH. Even a beginning chef knows you taste as you season. Just because James said to add 2 tsp., ultimately it good to check it out. Ham is different and has varying degrees of saltiness. This recipe is now added to my recipe box....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Used leftover Honey Baked ham for this recipe. Added horseradish, prepared mustard, minced carrots and cucumber. Did not add any salt as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First, you need to know that I always make my first attempt at a recipe EXACTLY AS WRITTEN. I make NO substitutions, additions or subtractions. That being said... The flavor is good. It would be a hit as an appetizer, served with crackers and cheese. But the texture is not what we were looking for. It was "wet," and bland (to us). To rectify the situation, I placed all ingredients in the food processor. I added 10-12 crushed bacon flavored Ritz(TM) Crackers; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/4 tsp cayenne powder. If your mixture is not too "wet," and you don't use crackers, you MAY need to add a pinch of salt. TASTE FIRST! I give it 4 stars (can't give it 4.5 stars, or I would have) because it needed adjustments for my family, but it is a great starting place for making it to your own preference. Thanks James!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just like the store-made stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
For me, this recipe made way too much dressing for the rest of the ingredients. Didn't really care for the relish element either - just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I like it, made a couple changes. About half the salt is plenty. Also, I prefer using an old fashioned grinder and running ham, green pepper and bread & butter pickles thru the grinder. I also added about 2 Tbsps of ground mustard. Great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States