Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royce Redfearn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used sharp cheddar instead of Velveeta and added a bit of broccoli. I took one bite and a huge pot of soup went down the drain...absolutely disgusting. It was so bad I'm not even sure I'd try it a second time with Velveeta, since I've already wasted so much time, food, and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Amazing, best soup thus far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
this was delicious!! my bf loved it as well there were barely any left overs. My mother use to make this when I was a kid only she would add celery and carrots as well but I was excited that it tasted exactly the same. I will absolutely make this over and over again Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish E Veillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and encourage people to try it! My mom made this recipe when i was a child. She passed away a few years ago and i never got her recipe for it so i decided to see if it could possibly be on here and to my surprise it was! although i believe she left out the onions and used packaged cubed ham instead. either way its great and very yummy during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very easy and delicious. I used ham stock I made (from a leftover ham bone - boiled w/celery & onion for 2 hrs) in place of the water and chicken bouillion. I also mashed the potatoes once cooked, but that was for personal taste as I don't like cubed potatoes in my soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe was just "ok"... I used heavy cream in place of the milk and added chicken broth because I found my soup was too thick. I also used sharp cheddar in place of the Velveeta and a shallot in place of the onion. After all the changes it was pretty good.... but still tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I have made this several times and it is very tasty and so easy. Works as a great base for any other soup. I've had variations with asparagus, crab, broccoli, I bet anything that tastes good with cheese would be great in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This soup was quick, easy, and delicious. I halved the recipe because I didn't want 16 servings. Also, I didn't feel like peeling potatoes, so I bought a bag of O'Brien potatoes at the store. Just covered in water with the ham, boiled to heat through, and followed the rest of the recipe. It was so easy, and the peppers in the potatoes added a bit of color. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is the best! I didn't really like the ham in it, because the ham lost a lot of flavor. I will have to try a better ham or just more veggies next time. It is soooo good. I didn't need the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States