Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Monica Swords
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made the following changes: used broth instead of water for extra flavor, added a bit of celery, didn't use as much onion, added about half a bag of baby carrots cut up, and a handful of fresh green beans cut up. I think next time I should cook the carrots and green beans a bit before adding the potatoes since they didn't cook quite as fast. But all in all, this came out VERY good. Not too runny, not too thick. Even my picky boyfriend had 2 bowls. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Swords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. I took others suggestions and used broth instead of water. I also used cheddar and velveeta cheeses. The only other thing I did different was I mashed all the potatoes. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda1827

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Good soup, but I added carrots and celery. I also made dumplings to add to the soup. I also put some celery salt and some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Oh my goodness! This is the very best potato soup I have ever had in my life! I cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot, but this will be great for lefovers or for our lunches. Very good flavor and nice and thick, but not too thick. Perfect! I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used sharp cheddar instead of Velveeta and added a bit of broccoli. I took one bite and a huge pot of soup went down the drain...absolutely disgusting. It was so bad I'm not even sure I'd try it a second time with Velveeta, since I've already wasted so much time, food, and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Amazing, best soup thus far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
this was delicious!! my bf loved it as well there were barely any left overs. My mother use to make this when I was a kid only she would add celery and carrots as well but I was excited that it tasted exactly the same. I will absolutely make this over and over again Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and encourage people to try it! My mom made this recipe when i was a child. She passed away a few years ago and i never got her recipe for it so i decided to see if it could possibly be on here and to my surprise it was! although i believe she left out the onions and used packaged cubed ham instead. either way its great and very yummy during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very easy and delicious. I used ham stock I made (from a leftover ham bone - boiled w/celery & onion for 2 hrs) in place of the water and chicken bouillion. I also mashed the potatoes once cooked, but that was for personal taste as I don't like cubed potatoes in my soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States