Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
FANTASTIC! I read the other reviews and made the following changes based on my families preferences and reviews. First I simmered a ham bone with ham (for the recipe), carrots and onion in 12 c. water for 2 hours. I removed bone and veggies and discarded. I then took out ham and chopped. I used exactly 6 cups of this broth to start this soup instead of water. I also chopped up the 2 onions very small and carmelized in olive oil before adding to the broth and ham. The rest I left intact except for substituting 1c. half & half for the 1 c. milk. I read where some reviwers didnt add the flour 'paste' and also left out the milk...I think if you don't use the flour 'paste' you wouldn't need the milk? The 6 c. broth (or water) is perfect. I used the full amount of cheese (velveeta) as this really is a HUGE pot of soup and I felt half wouldn't do the flavor justice. It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANKNOTTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I own a restaurant and tried this soup as a lunch special, it was a huge hit, I did add some chicken soup broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
LOVE this soup!! I had an extra ham bone (well my mother-in-law gave it to me) so I simmered it for a few hours w/ 6 c. of water, 2 carrots, 2 celery stalks (w/ leaves), and an onion (discarding the veges before adding the other ingredients). Doing this made an excellent broth, enhancing the flavor of the soup even more. I skimmed out most of the onion before adding the cheese because there was WAAAAYY to much. Next time I will add celery & carrots as well & maybe mash up a few more potatoes to thicken it some. Thanks Donna, this is a great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This is very good, basically a potato soup. By cooking the ham and potatoes together, you will get a heartier tasting potato ,, great idea. Bacon makes it great too! I toasted bread cubes seasoned with parmesean cheese in the oven for a great and tasty topper for your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very, very good! I added a few cloves of fresh garlic, as well as some grated Swiss cheese. Since I didn't have Velveeta cheese, I used about 8 ounces of fat-free cream cheese. This made for a very tasty, creamy, and lower-fat soup. I wil definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I made this for a holiday party and both kids and adults loved it. I changed a few items because of what I had onhand. First I browned 1 1/2 small onions chopped in the big soup pot. 1 3/4 packages of instant mashed potatoes (10 servings) constituted with 3 cups of low-sodium chicken broth took the place of 7 potatoes and the smashing. I boiled the other 5 potatoes, ham, and onions in enough broth to cover. It seemed a little too thick, so I added enough broth to make it soup-like. Then to get in some veggies, I threw in 1 cup of frozen mixed at the end. At the party, I served the soup from a crock pot on low. Don't recommend that because the soup burns on the side - not pretty. Definitely will make this again - mmm, mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Hubby actually said "to die for" and my 6-year old also gave the thumbs up. A couple of changes: cut recipe in half, added a stick of celery and a cube of veggie boullion, used 1/2 pound of velveeta instead of a pound, and forgot to add the milk. It was still fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
EXCELLENT! The best potato soup I have EVER had! I did however,only use one onion and half the amount of cheese,but it turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This soup was delicious! After having left ovr ham in a variety of different ways, it was nice to see a recipe for a ham soup that didn't have beans in it! I made this soup and we as a family has just loved it. It was very good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
YUM! I used 8 potatos (we love our taters), 1/2 lb of Velveeta, 6 cups of water, and 1/2 lb of ham. I didn't make the flour paste. Once I mashed about half of the potato mixture it became thick enough for my taste. I also added oregano for color and taste. It certainly was YUM! though not much different from any other potato soup I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States