Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This soup turned out fantastic! I am new to making soups, but this was very easy and the flavor was wonderful. I added sliced carrots and a bag of frozen corn to this recipe, and put everything in the slow cooker for several hours. Served this to my family and some friends after a day of skiing, and everyone asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I loved this recipe but my son complained he doesn't like Velveeta so next time I will try to find a different kind of cheese mixture to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is a souper easy meal. It was so good on a below 0 night. I added frozen peas for color and used white pepper to hide the black specks. Otherwise I just used half of what was called for and it was perfect for a family of four! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I definitly love this recipe. I love the milk in it. I did alter it a bit. I used 1 onion, a stalk of celery and one chopped carrot. I also used salt and pepper and basil and some shredded cheddar cheese. Very delicious. :) will make again before winter is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phyllicia mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The weather was damp and cold outside today, and this was the perfect soup to warm me up! I didn't have any ham on hand, so I used 1/2 lb of bacon and it was sooo tasty!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggiestar44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Great recipe! I covered the potatoes with chicken broth, cut up the onion and let it simmer. Save yourself some steps, no need to sautee the onion first, or even strain the onions out. They will be well blended by the time the soup is done. I did not use flour, if you let it simmer enough, it will thicken up nicely. I mashed up the potatoes right in the pot, so I had a nice mix of mashed/cubed potatoes. I almost skipped the milk, like some suggest-but after tasting it before/after it really needs the milk to get the right flavor/consistency! I cut back on the cheese to about 3/4...this recipe was wonderful and even my picky 10 year old loved it. I almost skipped on adding the velveeta-I didn't want a cheesy soup-but I swear this is the "secret" ingredient in potato soup. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is delicious! The changes I made were only adding 1 onion, and 1lb. of Velveeta. The leftovers did not last long. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calera, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Eleven grams of fat is a LOT less than many of the recipes AR calls 'healthy'. And look at the detailed nutrition...very good. The most unhealthy thing about this recipe is the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Although not on American Heart Association diet- it was sooooo yummy! I used caned white potatoes as a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States