Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this soup to help me make use of some leftover Christmas ham. It is super easy to make and hands down the best potato soup I have ever tasted. Thanks for this easy recipes my only changes were adding carrots and only putting one onion because the first was sooo strong and it turned out perfect. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara-3135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baudette, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was ok. I was expecting more. I had to add cheddar cheese on top and then it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Loved it! My husband who is always a critic, liked it a lot! My kids liked it as well. My changes were that I sauteed the onions with some chopped baby carrots and one chopped stick of celery in olive oil and then I added sour cream instead of milk. YUMMY and very Filling. Makes a lot of soup. If you have a small family I reccomend cutting the recipe down by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is a family favorite now. I made it the first time with leftover brown sugar ham from Thanksgiving, which added a unique flavor element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Ive made this a couple times now, and it is delicious. I left the onions out and used onion powder instead. I also added a little garlic powder and parsley. My husband loves this soup and likes to bring the leftovers to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It was good, alittle blah tho. I did not use any milk and I used bacon and pepper and it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klizanich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made it just a the recipe reads and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is the first time I have written a review on this site, but I just had to for this recipe. I followed it exactly, except I forgot to add the milk. It turned out perfect. I will be using this recipe from now on and will omit the milk every time. My husband and his co-worker, who was here, loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've made this two times now, once the full version the second I cut the recipe in half. Both times it just didn't turn out great. I've tried yukon gold's and russet, water and stock, both variations turned out the same. Not as cheesy as it should be and thin. Both times I had to use a corn starch slurry to thicken it up. I'm just not convinced that using the ratio of "cover with water" is good enough. I don't think I'll try this recipe again, it's time for me to move onto a new one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States