Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
We had a local resturant close and they served this soup. I've been looking for it since and now I can make it. My whole family loves it and whenever I have leftover ham I make it. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDYKSTRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I made this without the ham and forgot the milk. No matter. It was delicious! Feeds a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This soup is tasty & easy. I followed the directions exactly as written and couldn't have been more pleased with the outcome. Even my husband who doesn't like creamy soups thought this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
tastes great, easy to make, basic ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This soup was so amazing!! It was very creamy! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow Mills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This came out very good. I used Sierra Gold potatoes, only half of the Velveeta (by the way- I was very leary of ruining my soup with velveeta - we cant stand it! But, it did melt nice and provide a subtle flavor with no oily separation). I then planned to add 2 cups of cheddar but decided it was plenty cheesy for our taste. I started soup in the morning, pureed the onion and potatoes after cooking with a hand blender, then added our leftover ham with bone from Easter and let it simmer all day. Added the cheese and milk about an hour before serving. Came out good! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Wonderful.. We had cooked a smoked pork shank, and reserved the liquid, removing the fat when it separated.. used that liquid and chicken stock to cover the ham and veg..I also sweated off the onions before adding the ham and potato, to sweeten their flavor. We loved this and will do it again. Also, the leftovers seem to freeze well for a short period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I read the reviews before I started. I recommend that everyone do that. I used one can chicken broth and 1 can water to cook the veg. I made the recipe for 6. Added less onions than it asked the recipe asked for, I also added about 1/4 cup thinly sliced celery and 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrots. It turned out great and I will be keeping the recipe in my collection for a long time. I appreciate Donna for the recipe and everyone who reviewed the recipe before me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very easy to make, takes a while for prep but very worth it in the end. Recommend using 1 onion unless you love onion. It can overpower the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was ok, but it ended up to be more of a casserole then a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States