Ham, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe, it was super easy and tasty! I added a little more cabbage, plus garlic powder and celery salt. My family was surprised that cabbage soup could taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was very good. My first time eating or cooking cabbage soup. I used two potatoes and added sliced carrots. Used left over sprial sliced ham. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This came out a lot better than I expected. I wanted to make something healthier and lighter after all the fatty holiday foods. This fit the bill perfectly. The only changes I made were to use homemade chicken broth rather than canned and to add some diced carrots because it looked like it could use a little color. Very good, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this tonight and it was a big hit! I added flake red pepper, 1 celery stalk and 1 1/2 carrot cut up small not to over power the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwadsworth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Turned out very good with some modifications. I used 3 cups vegetable stock plus 3 cups chicken stock that I had in the freezer instead of the Swanson. I used 1/2 large head cabbage and substituted 4 red potatoes (a little on the small side). I also added 2 chopped carrots, 1/8 cup apple cider vinegar, 2 bay leaves and 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning. I lightly sauteed the cabbage along with the onion before adding the stock. Would probably also work with a little crushed tomato in it, but I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
So easy and so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I was not impressed with this recipe. I followed it to the T but it was too watery and no taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Found this recipe in a little cookbooklet called "Irish Favorites" at the grocery. I think the flavor will have a lot to do with the ham you use. I used part of a package of "slices and pieces" of spiral-sliced ham, and it turned out delicious, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
We did enjoy this soup, but I made a few changes. I used a basic, onion, celery, carrot base in olive oil. I used 5 small red potatoes diced smallish and a fine shred on the cabbage, because my ham was the remains of a sliced spiral ham and I wanted the soup to be less chunky, I used my own chicken stock so I added some salt, a splash of red pepper, and some butter.. Left out the caraway but did use the fresh parsley as others advised. Very hearty but delicately flavored early Spring dinner with fruit salad on the side and a crusty loaf. Made a lovely meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Morton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious...I used bacon instead of the ham and 3 medium sized potatoes. After the potatoes cooked in the broth I used a masher on them to thicken the soup. I used only 1 onion as I didn't want to overpower the soup with an onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States