Ham, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
If you are looking for a money saving on the grocery bill this is it and you can freeze it. We like the flavor and the parsely really makes it hopefully you will use fresh parsley and with crusty bread it is a great recipe. thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe to use up holiday leftovers. I used the leftover holiday ham. I omitted the onion (not many onion fans around here). I used more veggies than the recipe called for so it was nice and hearty. I used dried parsley flakes because I had no fresh and did not add the caraway seed. But, what really made this soup for me, was the addition of the leftover ham broth! I mixed 2 cups chicken broth, ham broth and enough water to make it all add up to 6 cups. It was VERY good! I have more ham broth left so I will be making this again and freezing it. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Found this recipe in a little cookbooklet called "Irish Favorites" at the grocery. I think the flavor will have a lot to do with the ham you use. I used part of a package of "slices and pieces" of spiral-sliced ham, and it turned out delicious, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I even get special requests for it when it gets cold! Modifications: I add shredded carrots, a pinch of red pepper & lemo pepper for a small spicy kick. I also sub EVOO for the vegetable oil. I don't use the caraway seed. The first time I (unfortunately) used dried parsely. definitely splurge for the fresh - they also offer it freeze-dried in glass jars (tastes just like fresh) in most produce sections now and it lasts a while longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I was looking for another way to use leftover ham and this was perfect! so much lighter than split pea soup! next time, I will really load up the cabbage and maybe add carrots to make it heartier. I left out the caraway seed, and let the ham make its own broth in water first( in the crockpot), then added a few chicken boullion cubes, then I just threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook - definitely making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this tonight and it was a big hit! I added flake red pepper, 1 celery stalk and 1 1/2 carrot cut up small not to over power the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwadsworth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This came out a lot better than I expected. I wanted to make something healthier and lighter after all the fatty holiday foods. This fit the bill perfectly. The only changes I made were to use homemade chicken broth rather than canned and to add some diced carrots because it looked like it could use a little color. Very good, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
BRAVO,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
So easy and so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
A delicious and hearty soup. Added bay leaf and thyme for extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States