Ham, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this is super easy and tasty, though it seems to need a little more flavor. I'll add some thyme and maybe a bay leaf next time. My family that doesn't like too many things in one dish, liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
If you are looking for a money saving on the grocery bill this is it and you can freeze it. We like the flavor and the parsely really makes it hopefully you will use fresh parsley and with crusty bread it is a great recipe. thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe to use up holiday leftovers. I used the leftover holiday ham. I omitted the onion (not many onion fans around here). I used more veggies than the recipe called for so it was nice and hearty. I used dried parsley flakes because I had no fresh and did not add the caraway seed. But, what really made this soup for me, was the addition of the leftover ham broth! I mixed 2 cups chicken broth, ham broth and enough water to make it all add up to 6 cups. It was VERY good! I have more ham broth left so I will be making this again and freezing it. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I even get special requests for it when it gets cold! Modifications: I add shredded carrots, a pinch of red pepper & lemo pepper for a small spicy kick. I also sub EVOO for the vegetable oil. I don't use the caraway seed. The first time I (unfortunately) used dried parsely. definitely splurge for the fresh - they also offer it freeze-dried in glass jars (tastes just like fresh) in most produce sections now and it lasts a while longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
A delicious and hearty soup. Added bay leaf and thyme for extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious...I used bacon instead of the ham and 3 medium sized potatoes. After the potatoes cooked in the broth I used a masher on them to thicken the soup. I used only 1 onion as I didn't want to overpower the soup with an onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I was looking for another way to use leftover ham and this was perfect! so much lighter than split pea soup! next time, I will really load up the cabbage and maybe add carrots to make it heartier. I left out the caraway seed, and let the ham make its own broth in water first( in the crockpot), then added a few chicken boullion cubes, then I just threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook - definitely making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I make this but add carrots to it and if I have turnips, I put them in too....... yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
We did enjoy this soup, but I made a few changes. I used a basic, onion, celery, carrot base in olive oil. I used 5 small red potatoes diced smallish and a fine shred on the cabbage, because my ham was the remains of a sliced spiral ham and I wanted the soup to be less chunky, I used my own chicken stock so I added some salt, a splash of red pepper, and some butter.. Left out the caraway but did use the fresh parsley as others advised. Very hearty but delicately flavored early Spring dinner with fruit salad on the side and a crusty loaf. Made a lovely meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
BRAVO,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States