Ham, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I was looking for another way to use leftover ham and this was perfect! so much lighter than split pea soup! next time, I will really load up the cabbage and maybe add carrots to make it heartier. I left out the caraway seed, and let the ham make its own broth in water first( in the crockpot), then added a few chicken boullion cubes, then I just threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook - definitely making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
A delicious and hearty soup. Added bay leaf and thyme for extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
BRAVO,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I even get special requests for it when it gets cold! Modifications: I add shredded carrots, a pinch of red pepper & lemo pepper for a small spicy kick. I also sub EVOO for the vegetable oil. I don't use the caraway seed. The first time I (unfortunately) used dried parsely. definitely splurge for the fresh - they also offer it freeze-dried in glass jars (tastes just like fresh) in most produce sections now and it lasts a while longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I make this but add carrots to it and if I have turnips, I put them in too....... yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe to use up holiday leftovers. I used the leftover holiday ham. I omitted the onion (not many onion fans around here). I used more veggies than the recipe called for so it was nice and hearty. I used dried parsley flakes because I had no fresh and did not add the caraway seed. But, what really made this soup for me, was the addition of the leftover ham broth! I mixed 2 cups chicken broth, ham broth and enough water to make it all add up to 6 cups. It was VERY good! I have more ham broth left so I will be making this again and freezing it. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this is super easy and tasty, though it seems to need a little more flavor. I'll add some thyme and maybe a bay leaf next time. My family that doesn't like too many things in one dish, liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
If you are looking for a money saving on the grocery bill this is it and you can freeze it. We like the flavor and the parsely really makes it hopefully you will use fresh parsley and with crusty bread it is a great recipe. thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States