Ham N Egg Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I actually really like this dish! It is a favorite of my husband's from his days as a boyscout, only they always made it with hotdogs. When I make it I cut the potatoes in a pretty tiny dice and let them sit in the pan for at least 7 or 8 minutes without messing with them so they get a nice crust. I also like to throw in a handful of well drained, thawed spinach for a little boost of nutrition. After everything is in the pan and the eggs are almost set, I top it with cheese, slap the lid on and take it off the heat. This is a great diner-worthy dish that is good morning, noon, and night and everything in between!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
My husband and I ate this for breakfast and it was delicious! I used one less potatoe and added one extra egg. I added a little garlic and onion powder and a bit of paprika. Perfect with orange juice and toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
The kids love this meal. We've had it both for brunch and supper. I've tried different cheeses with it. Monterey Jack gives it a nice tang. Occasionally, I've also added a little Tex-Mex seasoning to it. No matter how I serve it, this simple, but diverse recipe gets rave reviews and has become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Omelets and scrambled eggs of one variety or another are something we have often on weekends. We appreciated the difference in this egg dish, even tho' the ingredients are not unique. It was the potatoes that gave this distinction, particularly because it gives the eggs more substance, less soft and mushy if you will. I did, however, sort of flip-flop the proportion of eggs and potatoes, using more eggs and less potatoes, only because it doesn't hurt to watch the simple carbs wherever you can! (Plus, *ahem,* we were also having bread...) Because I used baby Yukon Gold potatoes, the skin was very thin and tender, so I didn't peel them. I added minced garlic to the vegetables and a little half-and-half and fresh chopped chives to the eggs. I didn't want the cheese to totally melt into the eggs so I just sprinkled it on when serving. The aroma in this house, even after our meal is done and the kitchen all cleaned up, is still incredible, an indication of just how tasty and flavorful this dish was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I gave this a 5 but I changed it a bit. I par boiled the potatoes. Dice up 4 strips of bacon and cook til almost crisp. Remove to paper towel. Add potatoes, onion, green pepper, garlic, salt and pepper. When potatoes are almost done add in remaining bacon. I fry up an egg and put on top of potatoes. Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This should be called Potato, Ham n Egg Skillet because the potatoes are definitely the predominant ingredient. That being said, it was a pretty good recipe. I made it exactly as written and I have to agree with other reviewers who said to put less potato and more egg, unless you just really like the potatoes to be the overriding flavor. I give it 4 stars for easy basic ingredients but only 3 for flavor the way it's written. But it could easily be a 4 if you bumped up the ham, eggs and/or decreased the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is fabulous! Made it Christmas morning and everybody loved it. The only change I made was to scramble my eggs with a little milk before adding them to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracykay122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I am a seasoned chef/baker and I appreciated this recipe being posted. Simple eggs & ham? Yes. But, with all the recipes swirling around in my head, it was nice to be reminded of something basic and delicious. Going to make this to bring to my mother's house on Christmas morning. Happy Holidays everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
My husband loved this!!! The only thing I did different was to add some cajun seasoning. I cut the salt a little because the cajun seasoning already has some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Way too much potato! Only used one and that was still plenty. Added another egg, but could have put in still another. Other than that, I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States